MAA logo
Illinois Section
Illinois Section

Home Announcements Awards
Governance Meetings Newletters
Section NExT History
Institutional Sponsors

Board of Education Community College Board
Board of Higher Education

The Illinois Section of the MAA was founded in 1917, two years after the national Association was chartered. The Illinois Section is the tenth-oldest in the Association. The mission of the MAA is to advance the mathematical sciences, especially at the collegiate level. Since its inception, the Illinois Section has worked to help the MAA meet its mission.

Congratulations to the 2019 ISMAA award winners.

Patricia Kiihne, Illinois College
Distinguished Service Award

J. Alan Alewine, McKendree University (Story)
Distinguished Teaching Award

Rita Patel, College of DuPage
Early Career Teaching Award

The Annual Meeting of the Illinois Section of the MAA was held at Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, on March 29-30, 2019.

The course descriptions for Statistics and General Education Statistics in the articulation guide have been revised to reflect IAI requirements and current practice in the classroom. These revisions are planned for a vote at the Annual Meeting. The proposed changes change be found in both Word and PDF formats.

"The AMS and MAA have agreed that the 1998 agreement [to manage the Joint Mathematics Meetings] no longer meets the needs of either organization and will end following the Joint Mathematics Meetings in 2021". See "Meeting the Future" and "MAA and the Joint Mathematics Meetings" for more information.

Upcoming meetings: