History of the Texas Section

What the Texas Section is today has been shaped by a long tradition of mathematical mentorship and fellowship in the state of Texas and the wider mathematical community. Much of the history of the section is preserved in the book A Seventy-Five Year History of the Texas Section of the Mathematical Association of America 1920-1995, written by R.G. Dean, long-time historian of the section.

According to Dean, twenty-three charter members of the MAA were from Texas, and although the Texas Section was not officially orgainized until 1920, there was an active Mathematics Section of the Texas State Teachers Assocation. Sixty-five people gathered for the first meeting of the Texas Section, which was held on November 25-26, 1921 at Bryan High School in Dallas in conjunction with the Texas State Teachers Assocation. R.L. Moore of the University of Texas gave a talk at the first meeting. There are reports that the section continued to have joint meetings with TSTA through 1927. There were regular section meetings through the 30's, but meetings were suspended during World War II. Yearly section meetings resumed in 1946.


Each year at the section meeting, those in attendance have been delighted by the Resolutions. We are working to archive these resolutions. Thanks to Stuart Anderson for sharing this first batch.


Updates to some of the appendices in Dean's History are now available. These were compiled by Stuart Anderson, Neal Brand, John Sieben, and Reza Abbasian,