Resolutions - April 7, 1990


Whereas the Texas Section of the Mathematical Association of America – attendees numbering nearly three hundred, plus guests, have been hospitably received by the University of North Texas in the persons of

  1. Melvin Hagan, Arrangements Chairman
  2. John Ed Allen, who assisted Melvin Hagan and who is Chairman of the Department of Mathematics,
  3. Ginny Lassiter, Pam Sybert and Andrea Slater, all staff in the Department of Mathematics, who graciously and efficiently provided registration services and guidance of all types and kinds,
  4. Professor Dan Mauldin, an invited speaker who intellectually stimulated the membership when speaking on “Fractals;”

            And whereas persons from mathematical circles beyond the Section having importantly provided additional intellectual stimuli – Professor Donald A. Martin, The University of California at Los Angeles on “Infinite Games” and Professor Tom Tucker, Colgate University, Vice President MAA, and Chair of CUPM on “Calculus Reform;

            And whereas those book publishers who provided refreshments at both the banquet and throughout the sessions:  Worth, West, D.C. Heath, MacMillan, Wadsworth, Holt Dryden, Addison Wesley, Scott Foresman, Saunders College, Cipher Systems, and McGraw Hill;

            And whereas four papers have been presented by student authors and another forty-seven by individuals from the membership;

            And whereas those individual honored at the banquet were presented distinguished service awards – John T. Mohat, UNT; Glen E. Mattingly, SHSU; and Herbert C. Parrish, UNT;

            And whereas sectional Secretary and Treasurer, Glen E. Mattingly, who has performed his responsibility superbly over these recent many years is now outgoing in many ways, and incoming with enthusiasm and charm to the task is Charles Robinson of Hardin Simmons University;

            And whereas the outgoing Section Chair, Roy Combrink of TCU, has guided the organization with vision, with efficiency, and with ease and competence, and incoming Chair Dale Bedgood of ETSU will guide the organization with vision, with efficiency, and with ease and competence;

            Be it resolved that the Section extends gratitude and congratulations to all – including those unnamed as well as those named above – who have taught and studied, served and led, worked and planned toward this most pleasant adjournment on the 7 April 1990.

Resolution Committee
John Ed Allen
Don Edmondson
Patrick Odell