This website is no longer maintained. Please visit and bookmark our new website.

Iowa Section Awards

Certificate for Meritorious Service.

Description of Award

A Certificate of Meritorious Service is presented for service at the national level or for service to a Section of the Association. In each Section, a committee of at least three members should be appointed to select a single candidate for the award. The committee's choice should then be communicated to the Section Governor, who will present the name of this nominee to the Board of Governors at the appropriate meeting. The nominating committee should provide to the Section Governor a brief summary indicating the reasons for the selection of the nominee. In presenting the nominee to the Board of Governors, the Section Governor should include the citation summarizing the MAA service contributions of the nominee. [Most of this comes from MAA page.]

The Iowa Section is entitled to nominate someone to receive the Certificate for Meritorious Service once every five years. The Certificate is presented for service to the Section, and/or for service to the MAA at the national level. Previous recipients of the award from the Iowa Section are listed below.

The Iowa Section Award Committee is seeking help in identifying possible candidates for the award. Candidates’ names, along with a short description of service to the MAA and the Iowa Section, should be sent to the Section Secretary by Friday, August 14, 2020.

The Award Committee will select a nominee for the award and forward that recommendation to the MAA Board of Directors no later than October 1. If the Board of Directors confirms the Section’s recommendation, the Certificate of Meritorious Service will be awarded at MathFest 2021.

Please send candidates’ names and description of service to:

Ross Sweet, MAA Iowa Section Secretary
Simpson College
701 North C Street
Indianola, Iowa 50125

Past Recipients

2016 Ruth Berger, Luther College (citation)
2011 Allen Hibbard, Central College
2006 Calvin Van Niewaal, Coe College
1996 Donald V. Meyer, Central College (citation)
1991 A. M. Fink, Iowa State University (citation)
1986 Basil Gilliam, Drake University (citation)