This website is no longer maintained. Please visit and bookmark our new website.

Iowa Section Awards

Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics

Description of Award

Nominations for the 2020 MAA Iowa Section Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics are now being accepted and are due by Friday, August 14, 2020. The Iowa Section Award Selection Committee (three MAA Iowa members appointed by the Chair, consisting of at least one former winner, when possible) will determine the recipient of the award from those nominated. The awardee will be honored at the Fall 2020 meeting of the Section. The awardee will also be the official Section nominee (submitted the following spring) for the MAA Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics.

Anyone associated with the MAA Iowa Section is urged to consider submitting a nomination for the MAA Iowa Section Award.


Guidelines for Nomination

Nominees should

* "teaching" is to be interpreted in its broadest sense, not necessarily limited to classroom teaching. It may include activities such as preparing students for mathematical competitions at the college level, attracting students to become majors in a mathematical science, working with pre-service or in-service teachers, advising undergraduate research etc.

** "influence beyond..." can take many forms, including demonstrated lasting impact on alumni, influence on the profession through curricular revisions in college mathematics teaching with wide-ranging impact, influential publications or innovative books concerned with the teaching of college mathematics, etc.