This website is no longer maintained. Please visit and bookmark our new website.

Iowa Section Awards

Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics

Call for Nominations

2013 MAA Iowa Section Award
Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics

Nominations for the 2013 MAA Iowa Section Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics are now being accepted and are due by April 15, 2013. The Iowa Section Award Selection Committee (three MAA Iowa members appointed by the Chair, consisting of at least one former winner, when possible) will determine the recipient of the award from those nominated. The awardee will be honored at the Fall 2013 meeting of the Section and will be widely recognized and acknowledged within the Section. The awardee will also be the official Section nominee (submitted the following spring) for the MAA Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. More information on the Haimo Award can be found at

Anyone associated with the MAA Iowa Section is urged to consider submitting a nomination for the MAA Iowa Section Award, should they know of an eligible and appropriate candidate. Even if not selected this year, it is an honor for someone to have been nominated, and your candidate can likely be nominated again in a future year. Your department will receive recognition for its commitment to excellence in teaching, and the work done in preparing a nomination folder for your candidate is a tribute in itself. Self-nomination is not permitted.

Please discuss this memo with your colleagues and post it in a prominent place in your department.


Guidelines for Nomination

Nominees should

* "teaching" is to be interpreted in its broadest sense, not necessarily limited to classroom teaching. It may include activities such as preparing students for mathematical competitions at the college level such as the Putnam Prize Competition or the Mathematical Contest in Modeling, attracting students to become majors in a mathematical science or to become Ph.D. candidates, working with pre-service or in-service teachers, and so on.

** "influence beyond..." can take many forms, including demonstrated lasting impact on alumni, influence on the profession through curricular revisions in college mathematics teaching with wide-ranging impact, influential publications or innovative books concerned with the teaching of college mathematics, and so on.

Preliminary nominations must be submitted on the enclosed Nomination Form (Word or PDF). Please follow the instructions on that form precisely to assure uniformity in the selection process both at the section and national levels. Forms: (Word or PDF).

All preliminary nomination forms received by the Section Secretary by April 15, 2013, will be considered for the Iowa Section Award. The Section Award Selection Committee will review nominations and select an awardee by May 15, 2013. A template of the nomination form is attached and can also be found at the Section's web page: Nominations for someone from another Section should be sent to the Secretary of the nominee's Section.

Ron Smith, MAA Iowa Section Secretary
Graceland University
1 University Place
Lamoni, Iowa 50140

The Iowa Section Award awardee will be announced at the fall section meeting and should be the Section's nominee for the following year’s national Haimo Award. The Section Secretary will ask the nominee's department chair to work with the nominator in supplying additional required materials for the Haimo nomination. Ultimately, a complete nomination must also include evidence of success in teaching. All materials for the Haimo nomination must be submitted to the Section Secretary by February 1, 2014 since Haimo nominations are due to the National Secretary of the MAA by March 1, 2014.

We look forward to your participation in this exciting MAA venture of taking substantive action to honor extraordinarily successful teaching. We want to see such teaching recognized at all post-secondary school levels. We depend on you to help us identify those who merit such recognition.

Russ Goodman
MAA Iowa Chair