Past Meetings and Officers of the Iowa Section of the MAA

If you have corrections or additional information, please forward that to the WebMaster. Since this is the static (html-only) version, if it is out of date, contact the WebMaster but you can also view the database-driven version here.

Date Institution Main speakers Governor Past Chair Chair Vice-Chair Vice-Chair Elect Secretary Treasurer Newsletter Editor
October 25-26, 2019Dordt UniversityCarol SchumacherMariah BirgenSergio LochAngela KohlhaasChris SpicerMelissa LindseyRoss SweetLucas BennettJoy Becker
October 5-6, 2018Morningside CollegeCarlos Castillo-Chavez, Michael DorffMariah BirgenJason SmithSergio LochAngela KohlhaasChris SpicerSusan CrookLucas BennettJoy Becker
October 20-21, 2017Loras CollegeDeanna HaunspergerMariah BirgenAmanda MatsonJason SmithSergio LochAngela KohlhaasSusan CrookJonas MeyerJoy Becker
October 7-8, 2016Grand View UniversityArthur Benjamin, Stephen Kennedy, Steve ButlerMariah BirgenBrian BirgenAmanda MatsonJason SmithSergio LochSusan CrookJonas MeyerJoy Becker
October 2,3 2015Graceland UniversityFrancis SuAl HibbardDebra CzarneskiBrian BirgenAmanda MatsonJason SmithSusan CrookJonas MeyerAmanda Matson
October 24,25 2014Clarke UniversityRobert L. Devaney, Ruth CharneyAl HibbardRussell GoodmanDebra CzarneskiBrian BirgenAmanda MatsonRonald SmithScott SearcyAmanda Matson
October 18-19, 2013 Wartburg College Jennifer Quinn Al Hibbard Jonathan White Russell Goodman Debra Czarneski Brian Birgen Ronald Smith Scott Searcy Amanda Matson
October 5-6, 2012 Simpson College Ivars Peterson Joel Haack Theron Hitchman Jonathan White Russ Goodman Debra Czarnesk Ronald Smith Scott Searcy Amanda Matson
October 21-22, 2011 Central College David Bressoud Joel Haack Martha Ellen Waggoner Theron Hitchman Jonathan White Russell Goodman Bernadette Baker Scott Searcy Al Hibbard
October 22-23, 2010 Coe College Rick Gillman Joel Haack Lawrence Naylor Martha Ellen Waggoner Theron Hitchman Jonathan White Bernadette Baker Scott Searcy Al Hibbard
October 9-10, 2009 University of Northern Iowa Steve Dunbar and Louis H. Kauffman Calvin Van Niewaal Elgin Johnston Lawrence Naylor Martha Ellen Waggoner Theron Hitchman Bernadette Baker Karen Shuman Al Hibbard
April 25-26, 2008 Simpson College Carl Cowen Calvin Van Niewaal Mariah Birgen Elgin Johnston Lawrence Naylor Martha Waggoner Wendy Weber Karen Shuman Al Hibbard
April 13-14, 2007 Drake University Joseph Gallian James Freeman Al Hibbard Mariah Birgen Elgin Johnston Lawrence Naylor Wendy Weber Karen Shuman Mark Mills
April 7-8, 2006 Iowa State University Jim Tattersall James Freeman Joel Haack Al Hibbard Mariah Birgen Elgin Johnston Wendy Weber Wendy Weber Mark Mills

Starting in 2006, the position of Secretary/Treasurer was split into two separate positions and the position of Chair Elect was also split into two positions (Vice-Chair and Vice-Chair Elect); details can be found in the Bylaws. While it is believed that this is complete, you can view the database-driven version here.

Date Institution Main speakers Governor Past Chair Chair Vice-Chair Sec./Treas. Newsletter Editor
April 1-2, 2005Central CollegeNancy Hagelgans and David BressoudJames FreemanJoel HaackAl HibbardMariah BirgenWendy WeberMark Mills
April 16-17, 2004Central CollegeFrank FarrisRuth BergerSteven NimmoJoel HaackAl HibbardWendy WeberMark Mills
April 4-5, 2003University of Northern IowaE. Todd Eisworth, Herbert E. KasubeRuth BergerSteven NimmoJoel HaackWendy WeberMark Mills
April 5-6, 2002Morningside CollegeDavid StoneRuth BergerBruce SloanLuz De AlbaSteven NimmoMark JohnsonCalvin Van Niewaal
April 6-7, 2001Drake UniversityUnderwood DudleyElgin JohnstonDavid ManderscheidBruce SloanLuz De AlbaMark JohnsonCalvin Van Niewaal
April 14-15, 2000Simpson CollegeDeanna Haunsperger, Stephen KennedyElgin JohnstonRuth BergerDavid ManderscheidBruce SloanMark JohnsonCalvin Van Niewaal
April 16-17, 1999University of IowaColin AdamsElgin JohnstonStephen WillsonRuth BergerDavid ManderscheidSteven NimmoCalvin Van Niewaal
April 17-18, 1998Luther CollegeJim TattersallAlexander KleinerJames FreemanStephen WillsonRuth BergerSteven NimmoCalvin Van Niewaal
April 11-12, 1997Iowa State UniversityRoger HornAlexander KleinerGregory DotsethJames FreemanStephen WillsonSteven NimmoCalvin Van Niewaal
April 26-27, 1996Cornell CollegeMartha Siegel, Joel GreenhouseAlexander KleinerEmily MooreGregory DotsethJames FreemanSteven NimmoCalvin Van Niewaal
April 21-22, 1995University of Northern IowaIzaak Wirszup, Barbara FairesLynn OlsonReginald LaursenEmily MooreGregory DotsethSteven NimmoCalvin Van Niewaal
April 15-16, 1994Grinnell CollegePatricia RogersLynn OlsonRonald SmithReginald LaursenEmily MooreSteven NimmoDonald Meyer
April 16-17, 1993Luther CollegeKeith DevlinLynn OlsonAlexander KleinerRonald SmithReginald LaursenDavid OaklandDonald Meyer
April 24-25, 1992Graceland UniversityGerald AlexandersonAnne SteinerElgin JohnstonAlexander KleinerRonald SmithDavid OaklandDonald Meyer
April 5-6, 1991Drake UniversityWayne Woodworth, Jennifer Rowley, A. Wayne Roberts Anne SteinerCalvin Van NiewaalElgin JohnstonAlexander KleinerDavid OaklandLuz De Alba
April 6-7, 1990Iowa State UniversityAlan TuckerAnne SteinerCharles JepsenCalvin Van NiewaalElgin JohnstonDavid OaklandLuz De Alba
April 7-8, 1989Coe CollegeLeonard Gillman, David S. MooreA. M. FinkGregory DotsethCharles JepsenCalvin Van NiewaalDavid OaklandLuz De Alba
April 15-16, 1988Grinnell CollegeRonald Thisted, Herbert WilfA. M. FinkAnne SteinerGregory DotsethCharles JepsenDavid OaklandA. M. Fink
April 24-25, 1987University of Northern IowaIvan NivenA. M. FinkGeorge TryttenAnne SteinerGregory DotsethAlan HeckenbachA. M. Fink
April 11-12, 1986University of IowaGraeme Fairweather and Lynn SteenDonald MeyerWayne WoodworthGeorge TryttenAnne SteinerAlan HeckenbachA. M. Fink
April 12-13, 1985Drake UniversityElgin Johnston and Charles GroetschDonald MeyerLynn OlsonWayne WoodworthGeorge TryttenAlan HeckenbachDonald Meyer
April 13-14, 1984Wartburg CollegeKenneth Ross and Daniel MihalkoDonald MeyerEdward HillLynn OlsonWayne WoodworthE. James PeakeDonald Meyer

The newsletter was started in 1984 by Donald Meyer. Below is for data before 1983. Currently the data below is incomplete but it is slowly being added to the database version based recent section history research. To see if anything new has been added, you can also view the database-driven version here.

Date Institution Main speakers Governor Past Chair Chair Chair Elect Sec./Treas.
1983A. M. FinkEdward HillLynn OlsonE. James Peake
1982Arnold AdelbergA. M. FinkEdward HillE. James Peake
1981Frank KosierArnold AdelbergA. M. FinkE. James Peake
1980Donald MeyerFrank KosierArnold AdelbergE. James Peake
1979Ellen OliverDonald MeyerFrank KosierE. James Peake
1978James CornetteEllen OliverDonald MeyerBasil Gillam
1977Lawrence HartJames CornetteEllen OliverBasil Gillam
April 10, 1976Clarke UniversityDr. H. O. PollakElsie MullerDonald PilgrimLawrence HartJames CornetteBasil Gillam
April 19, 1975Iowa State UniversityBetty Hinman and Stuart KlugmanElsie MullerDonald BaileyDonald PilgrimLawrence HartBasil Gillam
1974Robert HoggDonald BaileyDonald PilgrimBasil Gillam

This page is being filled in as I go through some historical records for the section. If anyone can provide any additional information for any of these earlier years not shown, please submit it to the WebMaster.