Business Meeting Minutes 2019

(Pending approval)

Iowa Section of the MAA
Business meeting
Saturday, October 26, 2019
Dordt University, Sioux Center, IA

Chair Angie Kohlhaas called the meeting to order at 11:15 a.m.

  1. Welcome and introduction of first-time participants (Angie Kohlhaas):
    • Mike Stobb, Coe
    • Melanie King, Iowa
    • O'Neil Kingston,ISU
    • Adam Wood, Iowa
  2. Approve minutes of 2018 Business Meeting (Angie Kohlhaas): Approved by voice vote
  3. Elections for Vice-Chair Elect Candidate Information (Angie Kohlhaas): Susan Crook was elected.
  4. Iowa Mathematics Competition (Ruth Berger)
    • University of Iowa won last year. March 7, 2020 is the competition date at Iowa City for next "Spring". Plan is to change from games to Julia Robinson Festival. Question of paying for lunches. Motion to pay for pizza, with the host figuring out the process. Motion carried by voice vote.
  5. Recognized 25 and 50 year membership anniversaries.
  6. 2019 Iowa Section Distinguished Teaching of Mathematics Award (Chris Spicer): Angie Kohlhaas won the award for this year.
  7. Report from Treasurer (Lucas Bennett)
    • About broke even 2018, modulo subvention check coming after end of year. Doing about the same for this year.
  8. Report from Iowa-NExT (Katherine Vance): Joint workshop with IBLINC, Michael Stobb is on steering committee. Could use one more person.
  9. Representative's Report (TJ Hitchman): Note that the Service Award is coming.
  10. Iowa CBMS Mathematics Pathways (Angie Kohlhaas)
    • State-wide conversation about transition to college mathematics. If you have comments, talk to Angie.
  11. General announcements
    • Donate MATHFest and similar name badge holders for reusability.
    • Departmental Survey is coming.
    • ASA DataFest at Loras in the Spring.
  12. Lunch details (Melissa Lindsey)
  13. Adjournment (Angie Kohlhaas)

The meeting was adjourned at 12:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Matt Rissler
Acting IA MAA Section Secretary