Business Meeting Minutes 2015

(Pending approval)

Iowa Section of the MAA
Business meeting
Saturday, October 3, 2015
Carol Hall Shaw Center, Graceland University, Lamoni, IA

Chair Brian Birgen called the meeting to order at 11:15 a.m.

  1. Brian Birgen welcomed everyone to the meeting, especially first attendees Dave Richeson, Francis Su, and Pari Ford.
  2. The minutes from the October 24, 2014 Business Meeting were approved.
  3. Sergio Loch, Grand View University, was elected Vice Chair Elect.
  4. The 2015 Iowa Section Distinguished Teaching of Mathematics Award was given to Dr. Steve Butler, Iowa State University.
  5. It was announced that this is our year to submit a name for the MAA Distinguished Service Award. A committee comprised of Al Hibbard, Cal Van Niewaal, and Amanda Matson chose a nominee. The nomineeís name will be made known by the national office.
  6. The Iowa Mathematics Competition trophy was awarded to the University of Northern Iowa. This year 24 teams from 12 schools participated. A team from the University of Iowa placed second and a team from Iowa State University placed third.
  7. Our section will again be selling Iowa MAA t-shirts. Orders must be sent to Brian Birgen by the date of the math competition this year.
  8. Jonas Meyer gave a treasurerís report stating that the section has a large amount of savings with about $7,500 earmarked for the math competition.
  9. The Centennial Meeting Planning Committee was announced. It is comprised of Jason Smith, Joel Haack, Lynn Olson, Jon White, and Sergio Loch. If you have ideas of unique things we could do to make this meeting special, please contact a member of the committee.
  10. Iowa NExT announced that they had five new members this meeting. Angela Kohlhaas is rotating off the committee and Kris Lee will be joining.
  11. Al Hibbard gave the Governorís Report. His term will be ending after the upcoming JMM. The election of the new governor will be held in the Spring through the national office. At the most recent meeting the main topics were membership (decline in membership and budgets) and creating a new model for the Board of Governors. There are currently three models under consideration. If you have comments or questions about these models (which can be found on the IA MAA website), you can contact Al Hibbard or Francis Su.
  12. Francis Su announced that the MAA is interested in hearing about what perks and benefits they could provide to help faculty members of the MAA. If you have ideas, please contact him.
  13. The Centennial MathFest was the largest ever. The plenary lectures were videotaped and will be online at some point.
  14. It was announced that the Executive Committee will be changing the bylaws to enact a five year term for the Competition Chair. This will be done by the Spring meeting. If you are interested in being considered for this role, please let someone on the Executive Committee know. A new chair will be appointed by the committee next fall.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:06 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Susan B. Crook
IA MAA Section Secretary