Business Meeting Minutes 2014

(Pending approval)

Iowa Section of the MAA
Business meeting
Saturday, October 25, 2014
Catherine Byrne Hall ALH, Clarke University, Dubuque, IA

Chair Deb Czarneski called the meeting to order at 11:11 a.m.

  1. The minutes of the October 19, 2013 business meeting were approved.
  2. First-time participants were welcomed to the meeting and introduced.
  3. Elections for the Section Offices were as follows:
    1. Vice-Chair Elect: Jason Smith
    2. Secretary: Susan Crook (term: 2014-2017)
    3. Treasurer: Jonas Meyer (term: 2014-2018 - extra year to stagger appointments)
  4. The 2014 Iowa Section Distinguished University Teaching of Mathematics award was presented to Dan Alexander.
  5. Ruth Berger presented the trophy to ISU and led a discussion on the Iowa Mathematics Competition. The date will be February 21, 2015.
  6. Brian Birgen reported that the Iowa section will have t-shirts. Preorders will be done soon, and we will be able to pick them up at the math competition.
  7. Scott Searcy gave the treasurer's report.
  8. There was a discussion of excess funds including an update from Spring Executive Committee Meeting. Jim Freeman moved that we establish a grants program for projects that support the IA MAA mission. The motion passed unanimously.
  9. Al Hibbard gave the governor's report, and encouraged us to attend MathFest this summer.
  10. Al Hibbard distributed certificates for 25 and 50 year MAA memberships.
  11. Al Hibbard led a discussion on joint meeting with Missouri Section. The Missouri section has invited us to their spring 2016 meeting in St Joseph, MO. It was suggested that we invite Missouri to our Fall 2015 meeting in Lamoni, IA.
  12. Jonas Meyer gave a report on Iowa-NExT.
  13. Deb Czarneski announced the next Midwest Undergraduate Mathematics Symposium (MUMS) to be held at Simpson College April 10-11, 2015.
  14. Cal Van Niewall talked about the liaison program.
  15. Amanda Matson gave lunch details.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Ronald K. Smith
IA MAA Section Secretary