Governor: Joel Haack, University of Northern IowaPast-Chair: Larry Naylor, Drake University
Chair: Murphy Waggoner, Simpson CollegeVice-Chair: Theron Hitchman, University of Northern Iowa
Vice-Chair Elect: Jon White, Coe CollegeSecretary: Bernadette Baker, Drake University  
Treasurer: Scott Searcy, Waldorf College Information Director: Al Hibbard, Central College
Liaison Coordinator: Russ Goodman, Central CollegeCompetition Coordinator: Ruth Berger, Luther College 

2010 Iowa Mathematics Meeting
Coe College
Cedar Rapids, IA
October 22-23, 2010

Call for papers Elections Coe Campus Lodging Schedule Abstracts Preregistering

The annual meeting of the Iowa Section of the Mathematics Association of America will soon be here. We are fortunate to have Rick Gillman from Valparaiso University be our main speaker.

Rick Gillman
Valparaiso University

Everyday Questions, Not-So-Everyday Mathematics

The world is full of un-explored mathematical problems. This talk presents the stories of three problems that the presenter found in his everyday world and investigated with undergraduate research partners. One is solved completely, one quickly reaches deep and unexplored mathematical territory, and the third, while not solved, opens many paths for further exploration.

Call for Student and Faculty Papers

As usual, we hope for a wide variety of talks from our own members. If you have something interesting to say about mathematics or teaching, contribute a talk and share with the rest of the section. Students (both undergraduates and graduates) are encouraged to participate.

In addition to the usual slate of contributed talks, we invite presentations for the following thematic sessions:

Special Session 1: "Undergraduates + Research = ?"

We invite papers for a session devoted to all things related to undergraduate research. Student talks, talks about mentoring, faculty presentation of results with undergraduate student co-authors, and various and sundry things having to do with getting the not-yet-credentialed involved in research.

Special Session 2: "Math Modeling in Today's Curriculum"

Papers on the variety of ways to include mathematical modeling into the undergraduate curriculum, including modeling contests, specific courses and other ways of introducing students to the usefulness of applying mathematics.

Proposals for talks are due by October 15. Please use the electronic submission form at [inactive now]. If you are unable to use the submission site, please send the following information to TJ Hitchman:

Contact information for TJ Hitchman:

TJ Hitchman Department of Mathematics 0506 University of Northern Iowa Cedar Falls, IA 50614-0506 voice: 319-273-2646 fax: 319-273- 2546 email:


We will be holding elections for a new vice chair elect at the meeting. The candidates for vice chair elect are Brian Bergen, of Wartburg College, and Russ Goodman, of Central College. The search committee consisted of Murphy Waggoner, Larry Naylor, and TJ Hitchman.

Coe College Campus Information

An interactive (and printable) map of campus is available via Most sessions will take place in Stuart Hall, at the corner of 1st Avenue and College Drive/13th Street. Driving directions are available via Meeting participants can park in any campus lots.

Lodging in Cedar Rapids

A block of hotel rooms is available at the Crowne Plaza Hotel downtown (less than a mile down 1st Avenue from campus) for $84/night under block code "IMA" and can be reserved at 319-363-8161 before 10/7. A block is also available at the Collins Inn & Suites under the group name "Iowa MAA" with various room configurations starting at $73/night and can be reserved at 319-378-8888 before 10/1. A longer listing of hotels offering a discount if you ask for the "Coe Rate" is available via

We recommend making reservations as soon as possible, since our meeting is the weekend of the Wisconsin-at-Iowa football game and accommodations convenient to Iowa City will be in demand.


Contact Chair Murphy Waggoner at (for general questions), Vice-Chair TJ Hitchman at (for program issues), Vice-Chair Elect Jon White at (for local, on-site issues), or the Secretary Bernadette Baker at (for registration or other issues).


Thank you for your considering preregistering for the upcoming meeting. This will save time for you at the meeting, make it easier for our secretary at the meeting, and increase efficiency in gathering the data that the MAA headquarters asks of us for each meeting (including gender, whether you are a presenter, and student/faculty/other status). When you come to the registration table at the meeting, indicate that you have already preregistered. Your name will be looked up from the list gathered from this program and you will only need to pay the registration fee ($10) to complete the process. Preregistration takes place here: [inactive now].

IA section database

We are trying to maintain an up-to-date database of all section members to provide better communication and save expenses on mailings. If you have not already updated your information, you may do so and it would be greatly appreciated..