The Kentucky Section
KYMAA Teaching Award Guidelines

Nominations for the Kentucky Section's Distinguished Teaching Award are accepted each fall. The Kentucky Section Selection Committee chooses one of the nominees for the Section Award. The awardee is honored at the KYMAA Annual Meeting in the Spring and may be placed in nomination for the MAA Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. More information on the Haimo award, and nomination instructions can be found on the national MAA website at: Past recipients of the KYMAA Distinguished Teaching Award are listed here.

To begin the nomination process, simply email the nominee's name and less than one page of accompanying text to the KYMAA Secretary at by Tuesday, December 1, 2015.

The deadline for full submission materials is Friday, January 29, 2016. Please have one copy of the full submission emailed or postmarked to the KYMAA Secretary at (electronic submissions preferred).

We urge you to submit a nomination of someone who is eligible and qualified in your department. Even if the nominee is not selected this year, it is an honor to be nominated. Your department will receive recognition for its commitment to excellence in teaching, and the work done in preparing a nomination folder for your candidate is not wasted, since your candidate can be nominated again in a future year. Self-nomination is not permitted.

The guidelines for eligibility as found in the document in the fall of 2013 are as follows.


Nominees must

  • Be College or University teachers who teach mathematical science courses at least half time during the academic year in either the United States or Canada. Those on approved leave (sabbatical or other) during the academic year in which they are nominated qualify if they fulfilled the requirements in the previous year.
  • Have more than seven years experience in teaching mathematical sciences.
  • Hold membership in the Mathematical Association of America.

Guidelines for Nomination

Nominees should

  • Be widely recognized as extraordinarily successful in their teaching*
  • Have teaching effectiveness that can be documented
  • Have had an influence in their teaching beyond their own institution**
  • Foster curiosity and generate excitement about mathematics in their students.

* "teaching" is to be interpreted in its broadest sense, not necessarily limited to classroom teaching. It may include activities such as preparing students for mathematical competitions at the college level such as the Putnam Prize Competition or the Mathematical Contest in Modeling, attracting students to become majors in a mathematical science or to become Ph.D. candidates, working with pre-service or inservice teachers, etc.

** "influence beyond..." can take many forms, including demonstrated lasting impact on alumni, influence on the profession through curricular revisions in college mathematics teaching with wide-ranging impact, influential publications or innovative books concerned with the teaching of college mathematics, etc.

Nominations must be submitted on the Nomination Form. Please follow the instructions on that form precisely to assure uniformity in the selection process both at the section and national levels. If a nomination packet significantly exceeds the prescribed limits (as stated on page 2 of the Nomination Form), it will not be considered for a national award and will be returned to the Section. Please send one copy of all materials to the KYMAA Secretary at (electronic submissions preferred). The deadline for submissions is Friday, January 29, 2016.

We look forward to your participation in this exciting MAA venture of taking substantive action to honor extraordinarily successful teaching. We want to see such teaching recognized at all post-secondary school levels. We depend on you to help us identify those who merit such recognition.


To report problems with the site please email Scott Dillery at
You may also wish to view the MAA Online Disclaimer.