Section Business

Below are the awards, Bylaws, officers, educational institutions, and history of the Southwestern Section.


The Southwestern Section gives a Distinguished Teaching award each year and a Meritorious Service award every five years. Award information is here.


The Section is governed by a set of bylaws. The bylaws were completely rewritten in 2009 and were approved by the MAA Board of Governors in August 2010. View the bylaws (PDF format) or the bylaws (Microsoft Word format).


Following is the list of Section officers as of September 2014.

Position Name Mailing Address
Email Address
Chair David J. Carrejo Department of Teacher Education
University of Texas at El Paso
500 West University Ave. EDUC 608
El Paso, TX 79968
Governor William (Bill) Y. Vélez Depart. of Math., University of Arizona
617 N. Santa Rita Ave.
P. O. Box 210089
Tucson, AZ 85721-0089
Newsletter Editor Pam Peters Department of Mathematics
San Juan College
4601 College Boulevard
Farmington, New Mexico 87402
Nomination Committee Chair
Joanne Peeples 6917 Orizaba Ave.
El Paso, TX 79912
Webmaster Allen Stenger 2892 95th Street
Boulder, CO 80301-4916

Educational Institutions

See our list of educational institutions within the Southwestern Section.

Section History

See our history of the Southwestern Section.