Michigan Section MAA Awards

Distinguished Teaching Award

Nominations for the 2019 award are now being accepted, and must be received by December 14, 2018 to be considered. The Distinguished Teaching Award Committee strongly urges departments or individuals to nominate deserving faculty for this award. We recognize that there are many outstanding teachers in the section, but we can consider only those who are nominated.

The committee particularly welcomes nominations of individuals from groups (or type of institutions) that have historically been under-represented in mathematics or in the list of previous recipients of the award. The person selected by the committee will be presented with the award at the 2019 annual meeting of the Michigan section and will also, upon receipt of additional supporting material, become the Michigan section nominee for the national MAA Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics.

The nomination form is available as a Microsoft Word document at the section's website. Send an electronic copy of the completed form to David Murphy at dmurphy@hillsdale.edu; please use "Michigan DTA Nomination" in the subject line. Email is preferred, but you may also send it by mail to David Murphy, Department of Mathematics, Hillsdale College, 33 E. College St., Hillsdale, MI 49242. Anyone may make a nomination (of someone else; self-nomination is not permitted), but nominations from chairs in departments of mathematical sciences are especially solicited.

Past recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Award are listed on the Section's history webpage.

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes service to the Section and is presented at the annual meetings of the Michigan Section. Past recipients of the Distinguished Service Award are listed on the Section's history webpage.

Certificate of Meritorious Service

The Certificate of Meritorious Service recognizes service at the national and section level and is presented once every five years at the annual meetings of the Michigan Section. Past recipients of the Certificate of Meritorious Service are listed on the Section's history webpage.

Christine Phelps (CMU) receiving the 2015 Distinguished Teaching Award from Gavin LaRose