2003 G. de B. Robinson Prize Recipient
James Grieg Arthur, University of Toronto

The G. de B. Robinson Award was inaugurated to recognize the publication of excellent papers in the Canadian Journal of Mathematics and the Canadian Mathematical Bulletin and to encourage the submission of the highest quality papers to these journals. The first award was presented for papers that appeared in the Canadian Journal of Mathematics in 1994-1995. The 2003 G. de B. Robinson Prize is awarded to Professor James Arthur of the University of Toronto for the paper, "A Note on the Automorphic Langlands Group" Canad. Math. Bull. 45, 2002, pp. 466-482. The paper addresses an explicit conjecture of Langlands on the existence of an extension of the absolute Galois group that would serve as a universal group in the theory of automorphic forms. The author presents a possible candidate for this universal group and a possible candidate for the complexification of Grothendieck's motivic Galois group. Besides making a fundamental contribution to a central area, this paper is exceptionally lucid and inspiring in its presentation. As such, it represents the ideal that G. de B. Robinson Prize was designed to acknowledge.

Dr. Arthur obtained his B.Sc. and M.Sc. at the University of Toronto and went on to Yale University, under the supervision of Professor R.P. Langlands, for his Ph.D. He was instructor at Princeton, Assistant Professor at Yale as well as Professor at Duke University in the 1970s. In 1978, he joined the University of Toronto as a Professor in the department of Mathematics.

Among the honours Dr. Arthur has received are: Elected Fellow of American Academy of Arts and Science (2003); Honorary Doctorate, University of Ottawa (2002); Whittemore Lectures, Yale University (2001); Guggenheim Fellowship (2000); Wilbur Lucius Cross Medal, Graduate School, Yale University (2000); Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering, NSERC (1999); Faculty Award of Excellence, University of Toronto (1999); Henry Marshall Tory Medal, Royal Society of Canada (1997); CRM/Fields Institute Prize (1997); Jeffery-Williams Lecturer, Canadian Mathematical Society (1993); Aisenstadt Chair, CRM, University of Montreal (1992); Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of London (1992); Synge Award - Royal Society of Canada (1987); E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship (1982); Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (1980); Sloan Fellowship --Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton (1975-77).

[LINK: Validate CSS] [LINK: Validate XHTML]