James P. Crawford Teaching Award

Please consider nominating a colleague, a respected former teacher, or an inspiring speaker for the yearly James P. Crawford EPaDel Section Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching.

The nomination process is two-tiered. To initiate a nomination, the nominator must submit a one-page nomination cover sheet and nomination letter by December 15 (see below for forms). The Selection Committee will screen the nominations, and around January 1 will invite some of the nominators to submit full nomination packets. The full packets should be submitted by mid-January. The nominator may enlist colleagues of the nominee (e.g. a department chair) to complete the full nomination. The award winner will be announced at the spring EPaDel meeting.

Each year, the awardee will also be the official section nominee for the MAA Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics.

No matter who you are, we urge you to submit a nomination for the Crawford Award if you have someone eligible and qualified in your department. The first stage of the nomination process is a simple one page form. Self-nomination is not permitted.

Eligibility and Guidelines

Eligibility requirements are based on national criteria. The award is open to College or university teachers who:

Nominees should:

Nomination Process

Preliminary nominations must be received by December 15, and shortly thereafter full nominations, which will follow the format of the national Haimo Award, will be invited. Preliminary nominations must include the following cover sheet and at most two pages of narrative.

Click here to download the nomination cover sheet.

Please complete the one-page form with at most two pages of narrative, and email in PDF form to Brian Kronenthal (kronenthal@kutztown.edu).

Contribute to the Crawford Award

In 2003, the MAA EPaDel Section Distinguished Teaching Award was named to honor the memory of James P. Crawford of Lafayette College. Professor Crawford was an active supporter of the section teaching award during his life and provided a bequest to the MAA as part of an endowment for the award. This bequest funds about 40% of the award money and the remainder is currently paid from section funds. It was Professor Crawford's intention that his bequest be supplemented with other contributions to fully fund the award. To achieve this goal we welcome any donations to the fund. Contact the current section chair to learn how to do this. All donations to the MAA are tax deductible.

Recipients of the Crawford Award

Below is a list of recipients of the Crawford Award. Those whose names are in bold went on to also receive the national Haimo Teaching Award.