Mathematical Association of America

Allegheny Mountain Section

Serving Western Pennsylvania and West Virginia
Call for Nominations - 2019 Allegheny Mountain Section Teaching Award

The criterion for the Annual Allegheny Mountain Section Teaching Award is a record of extraordinary success in teaching, a record of teaching effectiveness that can be documented, and an ability to foster curiosity and generate excitement about mathematics. It is preferable to have an award recipient whose teaching influence extends beyond their own institution. The nominee should be a member of the MAA, must teach at an institution within the section, and should have at least five years of teaching experience in a mathematical science.

Teaching is to be interpreted in its broadest sense, not necessarily limited to classroom teaching (it may include activities such as preparing students for mathematical competitions at the college level, for example, the Putnam Prize Competition or the Mathematical Contest in Modeling, or attracting students to become majors in a mathematical science or to become Ph.D. candidates).

Please send your nomination, with a description of how the nominee meets the criterion, by 4 March 2019 to:

Courtney Nagle
Penn State Behrend

For a list of past recipients of this award, please click here.

Allegheny Mountain Section of the MAA
This website is maintained by Tom Cuchta of Fairmont State University, Department of Computer Science and Math.
This page was last modified on 21 October 2018 at 16:29:56 Eastern Time Zone USA

MAA Online Disclaimer