Mathematical Association of America

Allegheny Mountain Section

Serving Western Pennsylvania and West Virginia

Allegheny Mountain Section Awards for Distinguished Teaching

Each year, the Allegheny Mountain Section of the MAA recognizes one of its own as the Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. The awardee is honored at the spring meeting of the Section and is widely recognized and acknowledged within the Section. The awardee is also the official Section candidate for the national MAA Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics.

Recipients of the award include:

2020: J. Lyn Miller, Slippery Rock University
2018: Courtney Nagle, Penn State, Behrend
2017: Cheryl Leech, Allegheny College
2014: Richard White, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania
2013: David Miller, West Virginia University
2012: Rick Brazier, Penn State DuBois Campus
2011: Gerald Kruse, Juniata College
2010: Rich Marchand, Slippery Rock University
2009: George Bradley, Duquesne University
2008: Antonella Cupillari, Penn State Erie - The Behrend College
2006: James Sellers, Penn State University
2005: James Reynolds, Clarion University
2004: Michael Mays, West Virginia University
2003: Michael Botsko, Saint Vincent College
2002: Barbara Faires, Westminster College
2000: David Falvo, Penn State Behrend
1999: Warren Hickman, Westminster College
1997: Eugene Wayne, Penn State University
1996: Robert Hostetler, Penn State Erie, The Behrend College
1995: Donato (Dan) DeFelice, Duquesne University
1994: David Bressoud, Pennsylvania State University
1993: George E. Andrews, Pennsylvania State University

If you would like information on nominating a colleague for this award, please click here.

Allegheny Mountain Section of the MAA
This website is maintained by Tom Cuchta of Fairmont State University, Department of Computer Science and Mathematics.
This page was last modified on 07 April 2020 at 09:12:34 Eastern Time Zone USA

MAA Online Disclaimer