Calls for Nominations

Various Nominations Sought

The three-year term of John Petro (WMU) as Governor will come to an end on June 30. A recently appointed Governor Nominating Committee, consisting of Don Lick (EMU), Hugh Montgomery (UM-Ann Arbor), and Elliot Tanis (Hope College), are selecting candidates for our next Governor. The election for the new Governor will be conducted this winter by the MAA national office.

Nominations for the Michigan Section's Distinguished Service Award are now being sought. Please submit your nominations by January 18 to Dick Phillips (MSU). As Past Chair, Dick also heads the Nominating Committee for Section officers.

The call for nominations for the Distinguished Teaching Award appears on page 31. Art White (WMU) chairs the selection committee and strongly encourages you to submit a nomination.

Contact information for all committees is given on pages 34-35 of the newsletter or here on the Internet.

Nominations Sought for Distinguished Teaching Award

Nominations for the seventh (1998) Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics from the Michigan Section of the Mathematical Association of America are now being accepted. The Distinguished Teaching Award Committee will choose one of the nominees for the Section Award.

The awardee will be honored at the Spring meeting of the Section and will be widely recognized and acknowledged within the Section. The awardee will also be the official Section candidate for the pool of Section awardees from which the national recipients of the MAA Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics will be selected (one of the national winners may also be selected from another source). Each of the (at most three) national awardees, will be honored at the national MAA meeting in January 1999 and receive a $1000 check and a certificate. The section awards for the past six years have gone to Elliot Tanis (Hope College), Doug Nance (CMU), Jerry Grossman (OU), Sid Graham (MTU), Art White (WMU), and Richard Hill (MSU).

Anyone (other than the candidate him/herself) is entitled to make a nomination. Any college or university teacher assigned at least halftime during the academic year to teaching a mathematical science in a public or private college or university (from two-year college teaching through teaching at the PhD level) is eligible, provided he or she has at least five years teaching experience in a mathematical science and is a member of the MAA.

The nominees should be widely recognized as extraordinarily successful in their teaching (interpreted in its broadest sense), have had teaching effectiveness that can be documented, have had influence in teaching beyond their own institutions, and foster curiosity and generate excitement about mathematics in their students.

Please send your nominations by January 1 to Arthur T. White, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5152;, 616-387-4535, fax 616-387-4530.

On to Campus News
Back to the Newsletter Table of Contents