Allegheny Mountain Section
Mathematical Association of America

Serving Western Pennsylvania and West Virginia

Call for Nominations - 2018 Allegheny Mountain Section Teaching Award

The criterion for the Annual Allegheny Mountain Section Teaching Award is a record of extraordinary success in teaching, a record of teaching effectiveness that can be documented, and an ability to foster curiosity and generate excitement about mathematics. It is preferable to have an award recipient whose teaching influence extends beyond their own institution. The nominee should be a member of the MAA, must teach at an institution within the section, and should have at least five years of teaching experience in a mathematical science.

Teaching is to be interpreted in its broadest sense, not necessarily limited to classroom teaching (it may include activities such as preparing students for mathematical competitions at the college level, for example, the Putnam Prize Competition or the Mathematical Contest in Modeling, or attracting students to become majors in a mathematical science or to become Ph.D. candidates).

Please send your nomination, with a description of how the nominee meets the criterion, by March 5, 2018 to:

Dan Shifflet
Clarion University
Department of Chemistry, Mathematics , and Physics
840 Wood Street
Clarion, PA 16214

For a list of past recipients of this award, please click here.

Allegheny Mountain Section of the MAA

This page is maintained by Rachelle R. Bouchat of Indiana University of Pennsylvania   Department of Mathematics.
Last updated October 26, 2017

MAA Online Disclaimer