MAA Wisconsin Section Executive Committee Meeting

Friday, October 2, 2020

Chair, Kseniya Fuhrman, called the meeting to order at 5:05 PM. The meeting was held virtually on ZOOM. The agenda was approved.

Secretary/Treasurer, Jonathan Kane, presented the minutes from the January 24, 2020 Executive Committee meeting and the emergency March 13, 2020 Executive Committee meeting. Both sets of minutes were approved.

Jonathan Kane presented the Treasurers report. There was little financial activity this year. Most of the activity was for the mathematics contest. The only cost for the cancelled spring meeting was for PayPal charges for the collection and return of a few meeting registration payments. The MAA will soon be able to handle online section event registrations which will simplify our meeting registration process. It might even provide a way for schools to register for the Wisconsin Mathematics Contest. The Treasurers Report was approved.

Section Representative, Thomas Drucker, reviewed the MAA Congress meeting that was held virtually in July with the meeting lasting three days with 90-minute sessions each day. The Congress spent the first day of the meeting discussing racial and ethnic diversity issues in detail including the need to increase the diversity of conference speakers and section and national officers. It was suggested that selections be done more by expertise and knowledge than by than title, and that it was good for meeting planning committees and nominating committees to get outside recommendations. There should be more effort to listen to members not in leadership positions and encouraging them to get involved with the Executive Committee and taking leadership roles. On the second day of the Congress meeting, the impact report was discussed. The discussion included activities of the national organization to aid section activities and how it can broaden the appeal of organizational membership, especially in attracting younger members and institutional members, and how to involve underrepresented groups in contests. On the third day of the Congress meeting MAA Treasurer, Jim Daniel, discussed MAA finances. The organization has been experiencing losses for many years, but now the losses are now much smaller. Investments almost made as much as it cost to have them managed. MAA has only about 28,600 members, but the organization has a big impact because of its work with other organizations. The MAA is encouraging the use of MAA Connect and is hoping that we find ways to make better use of MAA Connect in the sections.

Chair-elect, Ken Price, discussed plans for the spring meeting. This meeting can no longer be held as planned at UW-Stout which has cancelled holding such conferences in the spring. The Executive Committee discussed holding a virtual spring meeting whose format would be finalized at the January Executive Committee Meeting. The Spring Meeting Planning Committee will consist of Ben Collins, Anthony van Groningen,

Jonathan Kane, Kseniya Fuhrman, and Ken Price. There was discussion about maintaining online security for the meeting as well as how to provide for some social gatherings during the meeting. Because many campuses are currently in the process of adjusting their spring schedules, dates for an online Spring Meeting will be determined by the Planning Committee in a month or two.

Public Information Officer, Ben Collins, needs reports very soon to get the fall newsletter out. Please submit your reports by next weekend.

Student Activities Coordinator, Laura Schmidt, presented data about student contests from last year. The 2020 Wisconsin Mathematics Contest will be allowed to be administered online, and a letter discussing this with teachers is being prepared. There was discussion about some issues with administering of the Wisconsin Mathematics Contest by Kevin Haertzen at UW-Platteville. Irfan UI-Haq will offer help with contest and may provide an extra line of communication with Kevin. The contest takes place the first Thursday in December. Because of its online nature and our decreased ability to ensure contest integrity, there will need to be a discussion about whether we will offer the same type of awards as in past years.

Section NExT coordinator, Wesley Hough, said that the Section NExT conference scheduled for the 2020 spring meeting was cancelled but the 2020 fall conference will take place with a keynote speaker talking about mastery-based grading. The conference will take place virtually on a Saturday. Registration fees will be collected through PayPal. It would be good to set up an e-mail list for Wisconsin NExT to help develop a tighter network so tenure-track faculty can keep in touch with each other. The NExT Spring Conference could be connected to section's spring virtual meeting, but that could depend on the people at fall conference. It would be easy to find new tenure-track mathematics faculty in the state through department liaisons, but not all departments have department liaisons since the MAA has dropped their liaison program. Wesley would like to train a new NExT coordinator starting next year.

The Executive Committee discussed proposed changes to the section by-laws. It was decided to specifically add keeping track of Wisconsin Mathematics Contest finances to Secretary/Treasurer's duties. Also discussed was whether all Executive Committee positions should have term lengths specified in the by-laws. Executive Committee members should check the descriptions of their positions in the proposed by-laws.

There needs to be an election for Secretary/Treasurer as well as for Chair-elect at the spring meeting. Jonathan Kane is willing to run again for the Secretary/Treasurer position, and Laura Schmidt is willing to continue serving as Student Contest Coordinator after her current term ends in April 2021.

Section Distinguished Teaching Award applications are due in January, and this will be mentioned in fall newsletter. We have no nominees from previous years.

Kseniya Fuhrman will circulate a poll to determine a date for our January meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:55 PM.

TERMS:

Ken Price is Chair-Elect until April 2021,
Kseniya Fuhrman is Chair until April 2021,
Irfan Ul-Haq is Past-Chair until April 2021,
Thomas Drucker is Section Representative until July 2023,
Jonathan Kane is Secretary-Treasurer until April 2021,
Laura Schmidt is Math Contest Coordinator until April 2021,
Ben Collins is Public Information Officer until April 2021,
Balamurugan Pandiyan is Student Activities Coordinator until April 2021,
Wesley Hough is Section NExT Director until April 2022.

Respectfully Submitted Jonathan Kane Secretary/Treasurer