## MAA Wisconsin Section Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Friday, September 27, 2019

Present: Kseniya Fuhrman, Ken Price, Clare Hemenway, Irfan Ul-Haq, Jonathan Kane, Laura Schmidt, Balamurugan Pandiyan, Stephanie Bernander, Wesley Hough, Ben Collins

Chair, Kseniya Fuhrman called the meeting to order at 4:00 PM. The meeting agenda was approved.

Secretary-Treasurer, Jonathan Kane, presented the minutes of the January 2019 Executive Committee Meeting. The minutes were approved with two corrections.

Jonathan Kane presented the Treasurer's Report. The Committee agreed to transfer \$1000 to the Math Contest account. There was a discussion of honoraria amounts for section meeting speakers and Project NExT meeting facilitators.

Section Representative, Clare Hemenway, reported on MAA initiatives. There is a Life Member membership category currently available for \$2500. The MAA will no longer play a major role in the annual January Joint Mathematics Meetings beginning in 2022. Instead, it will put more of its effort into the annual July/August MathFest meeting and in supporting section activities. The MAA is interested in increasing attendance at sectional meetings. Beginning in 2021, a new program will provide MAA sponsored speakers at section meetings from business and industry in addition to their current MAA Visitor and Polya Lecture support.

Chair Elect, Ken Price, reported on the progress in planning the next section meeting taking place April 24-25, 2020 at UW-Stout. Laura Schmidt and Nasser Hadidi are the local coordinators for that meeting. The invited speakers have been chosen. They will be the MAA visitor, Lisa Marano, from West Chester University who will speak about Mathematics and Service Learning; Eric Rawdon from St. Thomas University who will speak on either NFL Analytics or Physical Knot Theory; and last year's section teaching award winner, Thomas Drucker, from UW – Whitewater who will speak about the MAA History SIGMAA. There was an extensive discussion about whether there should be a UW – Mathematics Department Chairs meeting at the section meeting. It was decided that such a chairs meeting would not be part of the section meeting but, for the convenience of the department chairs around the state, the meeting could take place before or after the section meeting. A listserve is being set up to include local coordinators and Executive Committee members who need to be informed about meeting planning.

Public Information Officer, Ben Collins, announced that the deadline for submissions to the Fall Newsletter is October 4. There was a discussion of people to be considered for the future *Know Your Wisconsin Mathematician* series.

Student Contests Coordinator, Laura Schmidt, delivered the student contest report. It appears that Wisconsin students are performing above average on national contests. Note that the contest dates for AMC contests will be changing over the next two years.

Student Activities Coordinator, Balamurugan Pandiyan, discussed the student activities at the 2019 spring meeting. There was a problem contest available to students in the student break room, and two winners were selected. In the future it would be good to grade this contest before the final speaker of the meeting so that winners could be announced at that time. Bala has been preparing posters about famous mathematicians for display in the student break room. It was suggested that the posters could be more visibly displayed for faculty to see, and that more posters a student poster contest could provide a source of more posters. Also discussed was a possible Mini-symposium on mathematical modeling at the next spring meeting.

Section NExT Wisconsin Director, Wesley Hough, discussed Section NExT activities. There was a spring workshop in connection with our spring meeting with Michael Dorf speaking about undergraduate research. The workshop was opened up to people not in Section NExT. More than 25 people attended. MathFest now has a Section NExT leaders meeting. Westley said that it was helpful to get to know other Section NExT leaders. The Section NExT Fall Conference is scheduled for November 2-3 in Baraboo. The MAA Chair on Assessment, Gulden Karakok, from UNC will make presentations by Skype. There was a discussion of inviting more than just tenure-track faculty to participate such as adjunct faculty and other early career mathematicians.

Wisconsin Mathematics Council (WMC) Representative, Stephanie Bernander, brought the group up-to-date on WMC activities. Their Fall Conference will be on Proficiency for Every Student and be held December 5, 2019 in Pewaukee. Their annual Spring Conference is scheduled for May 7-8, and they are looking for speakers. They sponsor a book study online every-other week in October.

There is already a possible candidate for the next Chair-Elect, but the Fall Newsletter will solicit more volunteers. A committee of Claire, Jon, and Ben was formed to find nominees to run for section representative. Clare will find one more committee member who is not currently an Executive Committee member. The list of Nominees is due in November.

Past-Chair, Irfan Ul-Haq, will coordinate the selection of a section teaching award winner.

Kseniya will conduct a poll to determine the date of the winter Executive Committee meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:12 PM.

## TERMS:

Ken Price is Chair-Elect until April 2020,
Kseniya Fuhrman is Chair until April 2020,
Irfan Ul-Haq is Past-Chair until April 2020,
Clare Hemenway is Section Representative until July 2020,
Jonathan Kane is Secretary-Treasurer until April 2021,
Laura Schmidt is Math Contest Coordinator until April 2021,
Ben Collins is Public Information Officer until April 2021,
Balamurugan Pandiyan is Student Activities Coordinator until April 2021,
Westley Hough is Section NExT Directors until April 2022.

Respectfully Submitted Jonathan Kane Secretary/Treasurer