## MAA Wisconsin Section Executive Committee Meeting

UW-Platteville Baraboo Sauk County, Baraboo, Wisconsin Friday, September 28, 2018

Present: Irfan Ul-Haq, Kseniya Fuhrman, Clare Hemenway, Kirthi Premadasa, Jonathan Kane, Laura Schmidt, Balamurugan Pandiyan, Holly Attenborough, Matthew Corne, Ben Collins

The meeting was called to order by Chair Irfan Ul-Haq at 4:10 PM. The meeting agenda was approved, and the minutes from the January 19, 2018 Executive Committee meeting were approved.

Secretary/Treasurer Jonathan Kane presented the Treasurers Report. The section finances are in fine shape. We made a profit on the annual Spring Meeting in Eau Claire, and our annual MathFest travel reimbursement was lower than usual. Annual subvention checks from the MAA have not yet been issued this year.

Section Representative Clare Hemenway presented the Representative Report. After January 2021, the MAA will no longer co-host the annual Joint Mathematics Meetings. They will continue to have a lower profile presence at the meetings. Instead, the MAA will put their emphasis on their annual MathFest meeting and will increase its support for section activities. The MAA Congress will stop meeting at JMM in January. The American Mathematics Competitions (AMC) is being reorganized with their committees being turned into editorial boards. Instructors interested in contributing to the AMC are encouraged to make their interests know. The American Mathematical Association of Two Year Colleges (AMATYC) is holding their annual national conference in Milwaukee November 14 -17, 2019. To promote the Conference the Wisconsin Mathematical Association of Two Year Colleges (WisMATYC) would like to have a table in the exhibit room of the MAA Wisconsin Section Meeting in April, 2018 at Carthage College at no charge. WisMATYC will hand out flyers and other material, perhaps including freebie bags or freebie mini whiteboards.

Chair-Elect Kseniya Fuhrman discussed the planning of the April 2019 Section meeting. Meeting rooms have been reserved at Carthage College. Michael Dorf, the next MAA president, will be the MAA visitor, and Erica Flapan of Pomona College will be an invited speaker. There was a discussion of possible third invited speakers from Wisconsin. Due to the proximity of Carthage College to Illinois, Ben Collins will look into announcing our section meeting among MAA members in Illinois.

Public Information Officer Ben Collins is asking for newsletter reports to be submitted by October 1. There was a discussion about choosing the next *Know Your Wisconsin Mathematician* candidate.

Student Contests Coordinator Laura Schmidt presented the Contest Report. The numbers of Wisconsin participants in the various AMC exams were consistent with the previous

year's numbers. The mean scores for Wisconsin students the AMC 10 and AMC 12 were similar or slightly above the national averages. Consistent with recent trends, the number of schools participating in the Wisconsin Math Contest increased, but there was a slight decrease in the number of students taking part. Thank you to John Beder and Gabriella Pinter from UW – Milwaukee who hosted the contest for the last five years. Kevin Haertzen from UW – Platteville will host the contest for the next five years.

Student Activities Coordinator Balamurugan Pandiyan presented the Student Activities Report. Bala plans more activities to engage students at the Wisconsin section meetings including having students make theorem presentations, provide students with contest problems, present students with an instructional poster, and, of course, provide snacks for the students.

Ben Collins pointed out that the Eastern Penn/Delaware Section has a Careers-in-Math conference once every two years for one day, where speakers give talks about their fields and students rotate through talks. A subcommittee of Bala, Irfan, and Kirthi was formed to consider whether a similar conference could be done in Wisconsin.

Section NExT Codirectors Holly Attenborough and Matthew Corne presented the Wisconsin Section NExT Report. The fall Section NExT workshop will take place November 10 – 11 at UW – Platteville Baraboo Sauk County in Baraboo. Kevin Gannon from Grand View University in Des Moines will talk about Critical and Inclusive Pedagogy. At the 2018 Section Meeting in Eau Claire, there was a Section NExT panel discussion about how to attract students to undergraduate research projects. The three panelists were Carolyn Otto from UW – Eau Claire, Song Chen from UW – LaCrosse, and Andrei Ghenciu from UW – Stout.

Holly will be stepping down as codirector. Matt will try to find another codirector. Thank you to Holly for her service to Wisconsin Section NExT.

There was a discussion about who might be considered for the next Chair-Elect. A survey distributed at the spring meeting asking for suggestions or volunteers did not result in any names. Perhaps the survey needs to be administered differently.

Ben Collins proposed forming a Program Committee to formally assist the Chair-Elect in planning the spring section meetings. We will create a listserve of those Executive Committee member involved with planning so that all related communications will be shared by this committee.

Kirthi will head a committee to choose a section teaching award winner.

Lots of term limits end in April 2021, so the Executive Committee should think about making a smooth transition that year.

It was decided that the Wisconsin Section should not take a stand on the UW system math initiative where the UW System is making changes to mathematics curricula as a result of the combining of four-year and two-year campuses. Individual schools in the system are already interacting with the system on these issues.

The next meeting of the Executive Committee will be held January 25, 2019.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:13 PM.

## TERMS:

Kseniya Fuhrman is Chair-Elect until April 2019,
Irfan Ul-Haq is Chair until April 2019,
Kirthi Premadasa is Past-Chair until April 2019,
Clare Hemenway is Section Representative until July 2020,
Jonathan Kane is Secretary-Treasurer until April 2021,
Laura Schmidt is Math Contest Coordinator until April 2021,
Ben Collins is Public Information Officer until April 2021,
Balamurugan Pandiyan is Student Activities Coordinator until April 2021,
Holly Attenborough and Matthew Corne are Section NExT Directors until April 2021.

Respectfully Submitted Jonathan Kane Secretary/Treasurer