## MAA Wisconsin Section Executive Committee Meeting

UW-Baraboo/Sauk County September 22, 2017

Present: Irfan Ul-Haq, Kirthi Premadasa, Jennifer Szydlik, Jonathan Kane, Laura Schmidt, Clare Hemenway, Wendy Meyer, Balamurugan Pandiyan, Holly Attenborough, Matthew Corne, Ben Collins

Kirthi Premadasa called the meeting to order by Kirthi at 4:01. The agenda was approved on a voice vote.

Jonathan Kane presented the minutes of the January 2017 Executive Committee meeting which were approved on a voice vote.

Jonathan Kane presented the treasurers report. The section made a small profit of about \$300 on the spring 2017 meeting but lost money through the year due to increases in reimbursement to section officers attending the Executive Committee meetings and a loss of about \$800 for Section NExT. The committee adopted a new policy for reimbursement for the expenses of the section officer attending the annual Section Officers Meeting at MathFest. The new policy to take effect in 2018 will cover up to a maximum of \$750 for meeting registration, travel, and lodging and meals for two days. It was also decided to reimburse Irfan Ul-Haq up to \$1000 for his expenses at this year's MathFest in Chicago. The treasurers report was approved.

Irfan Ul-Haq discussed the progress for organizing the spring 2018 section meeting. The committee made suggestions for invited speakers. It was recommended that Irfan contact the UW – Eau Claire hosts of the spring meeting to determine the parking arrangements for the meeting.

Clare Hemenway delivered the section representative report. The new MAA Congress met for the first time in Chicago at MathFest. The meeting was lively and engaging as opposed to the boring Board of Governors meetings it replaces. They discussed what the congress is supposed to do now that they do not read and approve financial reports. They also discussed Congress bylaws and MAA strategic goals having to do with money and the purpose of the MAA. The decision of what to name the new body of representatives will be revisited.

Irfan reported on the Section Officers Meeting. A new MAA policy is that only large changes in section by-laws need to be reported to MAA. Instead each section's by-laws will get a ten-year review by the Congress. There was a discussion of the annual meeting schedules of the various sections, how many days they meet, and when they schedule their invited talks. One section suggested offering "micro-courses" as part of their meeting schedule.

Ben Collins presented the new MAA Wisconsin Section Handbook which will be posted on the section website. In particular, it was discussed how the section service award should be determined. It was decided that current Executive Committee members would be eligible to win

this award, and criteria for the giving of this award were adopted. It was noted that the handbook still has no student activities coordinator description. The handbook was approved.

Jennifer Szydlik discussed how to get teachers to apply for the section teaching award. The committee brainstormed about nominating the next chair-elect.

Laura Schmidt agreed to serve another term as the Contest Coordinator. There was no news about student contests, but UW – Platteville has expressed some interest in becoming the next host for the Wisconsin Section High School Math Contest after UW – Milwaukee completes their current five-year term in 2017.

The committee welcomed Balamurugan Pandiyan as the new Student Activities Coordinator and made several suggestions about what he should attempt to accomplish.

Holly Attenborough and Matthew Corne delivered the Section NExT report. Their fall workshop will take place November 4-5 in Baraboo and be focused on inquiry oriented learning. They contacted department chairs to encourage attendance and selected two presenters. There was a discussion about who could be invited to attend the Section NExT workshop.

Wendy Meyers presented the Wisconsin Mathematics Council (WMC) report. Their fall conference will be held in Wisconsin Dells October 18 - 19. They expect a lot of pre-service teachers to come. Next May will be the 50th anniversary Green Lake meeting. All past presidents from the NCTM have been invited for the May 2 - 4. The meeting attracted a record number of participants last year. The WMC State math contest will be in the spring.

There will need to be an election for section Secretary/Treasurer at the annual meeting in Eau – Claire in April. Jonathan Kane is willing to run for another term.

The next Executive Committee meeting will be held January 19, 2018.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:01.

Terms: Jennifer Szydlik is Past-Chair until April 2018, Kirthi Premadasa is Chair until April 2018, Clare Hemenway is Section Representative until July 2020, Jonathan Kane is Secretary-Treasurer until April 2018, Laura Schmidt is Math Contest Coordinator until April 2021, Ben Collins is Public Information Officer until April 2021, Balamurugan Pandiyan is Student Activities Coordinator until April 2021, Holly Attenborough and Matthew Corne are Section NExT Directors until April 2021.

Respectfully Submitted By Jonathan Kane Secretary/Treasurer