## MAA Wisconsin Section Executive Committee Meeting

UW-Baraboo/Sauk County September 30, 2016

Present: Jennifer Szydlik, Kirthi Premadasa, Kavita Bhatia, Jonathan Kane, Laura Schmidt, Wendy Meyer, Eric Eager, Ben Collins

Jennifer Szydlik called the meeting to order at 4:03. The agenda was approved on a voice vote.

Jonathan Kane presented the minutes of the January 29, 2016 meeting of the Executive Committee, and the minutes were approved on a voice vote.

Jonathan Kane presented the treasurers report. Of note was that the bank where the Wisconsin Section accounts are stored, Anchor Bank, has merged with a larger chain and is now called Old National Bank. This will require the section to obtain new checks somewhat before running out of the supply of old checks. The section made a small profit on the 2016 Spring Meeting partly due to the UW – Oshkosh Department of Mathematics absorbing the cost of printing the meeting programs. The Wisconsin Math Contest lost money in its first year of moving to electronic distribution of contest materials, but adjustments in the pricing structure of the contest are being made to avoid similar losses in the future.

Chair-Elect, Kirthi Premadasa, reported on the progress made in planning the April 2017 Section meeting. Gabriella Pinter is the local host at UW – Milwaukee. Three invited speakers have been found including Stephen Kennedy from Carlton College who will be the MAA Visitor, and Melanie Matchett-Wood and Nigel Boston who are both from UW – Madison.

The Governor's Report from Mark Snavely was read in his absence. It encouraged section members to attend the MAA Business Meeting at the Joint Meetings to be held in January in Atlanta, GA because the MAA wants to adopt new by-laws which requires a positive vote at a Business Meeting with at least 50 members in attendance. The new by-laws will change the structure of MAA governance and change the Board of Governors into a Congress.

Kirthi, Ben, and Jon were selected to serve on a nominating committee to select candidates to run for Section Governor to replace Mark Snavely whose term ends in July. Committee members will contact qualified candidates who have expressed interest in running and will forward the names of possible nominees to Jon.

Public Information Officer, Ben Collins, would like to receive reports for the fall newsletter by Friday October 7. There was a discussion of possible people to interview for the *Know Your Wisconsin Mathematician* feature. The liaison system set up by MAA for contacting organization members has been abandoned by the MAA, but is being revived for use within the Section. Ben has contacted the list of liaisons and only 17 have asked to continue in that capacity.

Past-Chair, Kavita Bhatia, discussed steps being taken to solicit nominations for the Section Teaching Award. The process for getting nominations needs change because we are often not receiving enough information about nominees on which to base a selection. It was decided that any section member may forward a nomination, even the nomination of a spouse, but the application must include two letters of support. A motion to make this change passed. It was suggested that a description of the previous year's winner should accompany any call for nominations.

Student Contests Coordinator, Laura Schmidt, delivered her report. UW – Milwaukee has been hosting the contest under the direction of Jay Beder for the past four years, but they will not be able to continue beyond this year. The Section will advertise in order to find a new host institution. Ben Collins suggests that if the search for a new host is not successful, the Section should seriously consider dropping the contest in light of the fact that participation has fallen, and there are many more mathematics contests available to students now than there were when the Wisconsin Math Contest began.

Wisconsin Project NExT director, Eric Eager, delivered the Project NExT report. The Wisconsin Project NExT fall workshop will take place November 5 – 6 at UW – Baraboo/Sauk County. Robert Allen will speak on mentoring undergraduate research programs. The workshop will also discuss innovative statistically sound teaching methods and will include presentations by workshop participants. Eric will look for a replacement Project NExT director as he will not be able to continue as director beyond this year.

The representative from the Wisconsin Mathematics Council (WMC), Wendy Meyer, reported on WMC activities. *Math proficiency for Every Student* will be the theme of the conference in Onalaska October 19 – 20. A workshop on the topic *Discourse & Productive Struggle and Problem Solving* will take place in Oshkosh November 2-3. The 49th annual WMC Conference will take place May 3 – 5 in Green Lake. The deadline for talks is October 17. The High School / Middle School Math Contest will be offered in the spring, and the nation NCTM conference will be in San Antonio April 5 – 8. Two WMC members will be running for NCTM board positions.

The Section needs to appoint a new Student Activities Coordinator and a new Project NExT Director.

In an effort to document the duties of each Executive Committee Officer, there was a discussion of the proposed descriptions for Chair-Elect, Chair, Past-Chair, and Secretary/Treasurer. Completed descriptions will be posted on the Section website with links on Executive Committee page. Ben will edit the descriptions so that they are formatted similarly.

There has been no response from the MAA about an article about Section activities that they solicited from us for the FOCUS publication. This may be due to the fact that the Committee on Sections has begun producing their own newsletter where such articles could appear. The date for the next Executive Committee meeting will be determined by an e-mail poll but will likely take place on a Friday in January, 2017 in Baraboo.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:07.

## Terms:

Kavita Bhatia is Past Chair until April 2017, Jennifer Szydlik is Chair until April 2017, Kirthi Premadasa is Chair Elect until April 2017, Mark Snavely is Governor until July 2017, Jonathan Kane is Secretary-Treasurer until April 2018, Laura Schmidt is Math Contest Coordinator until April 2018, Ben Collins is Public Information Officer until April 2021, McKenzie Lamb's term as Coordinator of Student Activities ends April 2017, and Eric Eager is Project NExT-WI Director until April 2017.

Respectfully Submitted By Jonathan Kane Secretary/Treasurer