## MAA Wisconsin Section Executive Committee Meeting

UW-Baraboo/Sauk County September 11, 2015

Present: Kavita Bhatia, Jennifer Szydlik, Mark Snavely, Thomas Drucker, Jonathan Kane, Laura Schmidt, Eric Eager (via Skype), Ben Collins

Kavita Bhatia, Section Chair, called the meeting to order at 4:05 PM.

Since Eric Eager was attending the meeting by Skype, the meeting began with a discussion of the arrangements for the Spring 2016 Meeting scheduled for April 22-23 at UW-La Crosse. Eric said that UW-La Crosse had been doing preliminary work including preparing for the printing of name badges, reserving rooms, and lining up catering. Chair Elect, Jennifer Szydlik, has lined up William Dunham from Mihlenberg College and John Beam, winner of last year's section teaching award, as speakers, and is working on lining up a speaker representing the MAA. There was a long discussion of Jen's idea to promote an *Adopt a Number* program to be unveiled at the spring meeting as a fun money raising venture.

Eric Eager, Project NExT Wisconsin Director, also reported on the planned fall Project NExT Wisconsin Workshop. This year the workshop is scheduled for November 7-8, a month later than in previous years, in an effort to find a time more convenient for participants. This workshop will feature Theron Hitchman from Northern Iowa University and will include a talk about opportunities within the MAA delivered via Skype by Francis Su, current MAA president. Tom Drucker may deliver a talk about placing mathematics classroom topics in historical context. Due to a change in management at UW-Baraboo/Sauk County, the site of the workshop, registration for the workshop has been lowered to \$35 from \$75, but meals will not be provided. Instead participants will go out to each together. Eric expects between one dozen and two dozen participants in this year's workshop.

Jonathan Kane, Secretary/Treasurer, reviewed the minutes of the January 2015 Executive Committee meeting and the April 2015 Section Business meeting. The minutes from the Executive Committee meeting were approved. Reminding the group about the suggestion Jim Daniel made at the business meeting that the section sponsor a Project NExT fellow, Jon will contact the Project NExT directors to discuss the best mechanism to implement such a sponsorship.

Jonathan Kane also presented the Treasurers Report. In particular, it was pointed out that the section ran a \$765 deficit for the spring meeting and suggested that there were four avoidable errors made that contributed to the deficit. As a result, the Executive Committee decided that it would be good to 1) have both a preregistration form and a different registration form for registrations for the spring meetings, 2) update the list of *Guidelines for the local host* document to make clear that all mathematics faculty attending the spring meeting are expected to register for the meeting and the banquet, if attending, 3) offer to each invited speaker for the spring meeting, not already sponsored by the MAA, an honorarium of \$500 meant to cover the speakers' expenses, 4) make sure that announcements are made encouraging students to attend the Spring Meeting banquet, but that the students are expected to pay the \$5 registration fee for

the banquet, and 5) have each of the elected officers prepare a set of guidelines for effectively executing the duties of their respective offices. Ben Collins will work on updating the *Guidelines* for the local host document.

Mark Snavely, Governor, delivered the Governors Report. He pointed out that the MAA Board of Governors is discussing a new structure for governance of the MAA which could result in the board focusing more on MAA policy issues.

Ben Collins, Public Information Officer, reported on the Section Officers' Meeting at Mathfest. The meeting had little new information but did have a discussion of the Business, Industry, and Government Special Interest Group of the MAA and how some sections are trying to increase nonacademic participation in the MAA.

Ben reminded committee members to submit their reports for the fall newsletter by September 25. He noted that the fall newsletters are announced by postcards sent to section members, but that an abbreviated newsletter is sent out for the spring newsletter because it included registration forms for the spring meeting. He suggested that the announcement of the spring newsletter could also be done by postcard since most members would be comfortable downloading the necessary registration forms from the web.

Geetha Samaranayake, the 2014 section teaching award recipient, was a runner-up for the 2015 MAA Haimo teaching award. She was encouraged to reapply for the Haimo award again next year. Ben Collins concluded that there is no record of a rule that Executive Committee members are barred from winning the section teaching award, but the Executive Committee then passed such a rule. It was also decided that host institutions present up to four local teacher awards to mathematics teachers in the geographic region near the host institution, and the winners be presented with award plaques at the spring meeting. The local hosts would arrange for the plaques with the section reimbursing them up to \$20 per plaque. Section teaching award winners would also be presented with plaques with the Past Chair being responsible for obtaining the award plaque.

Laura Schmidt, Math Contest Coordinator, presented the Contest Report which had not changed since the report submitted in April.

The Nomination Committee for Chair Elect will consist of the Chair Elect, the Chair, and the Past Chair. Several names were suggested as possible candidates.

It is not clear whether a new representative from the Wisconsin Mathematics Council (WMC) has been appointed.

Ben Collins has been appointed for another five-year term as the section Public Information Officer (until April 2021). Other committee positions include:

Tom Drucker is Past Chair until April 2016, Kavita Bhatia is Chair until April 2016, Jennifer Szydlik is Chair Elect until April 2016, Mark Snavely is Governor until July 2017, Jonathan Kane is Secretary-Treasurer until April 2018, Laura Schmidt is Math Contest Coordinator until April 2018, McKenzie Lamb is Coordinator of Student Activities until April 2017, and Eric Eager is Project NExT-WI Director until April 2017.

The Winter Meeting of the Executive Committee was scheduled for Friday January 29, 2016 at UW-Baraboo/Sauk County.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:00 PM.