## Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting of the Wisconsin Section of the MAA Edgewood College September 19, 2014

Present: Kavita Bhatia, Mark Snavely, Ken Jewell, Jonathan Kane, McKenzie Lamb, Jennifer Kosiak, Eric Eager, Ben Collins

Ken Jewell, Immediate Past Chair, brought the meeting to order at 4:01 PM.

The minutes from the April 5, 2014 Business Meeting were presented and approved with one correction. It was also noted that the Spring 2015 meeting at Ripon College has been moved to the fourth weekend of April, April 24-25.

Jonathan Kane, Treasurer, presented the Treasurer's Report noting that the section made an uncharacteristic and significant profit on the Spring 2014 meeting at UW-Whitewater, perhaps due to a smaller than expected food bill. This was seen as a one-time aberration and that no changes in the meeting fee structure would be made at this time.

Kavita Bhatia, Chair Elect, talked about progress in planning the Spring 2015 meeting. Jim Daniel will be the MAA Speaker and David Bressoud, from Macalester College and former MAA President, will also speak. There was some discussion of who might be asked to be a third invited speaker. Also discussed was the possibility of introducing panel discussions specifically directed toward undergraduates on topics such as career paths for mathematicians or graduate programs in mathematics. The committee discussed the possibility of extending the Spring Meeting a few hours into Saturday afternoon in order to accommodate more talks and panel discussions by having the Project NExT meeting and the UW-College department meeting move to Friday morning. Perhaps this could be a topic of discussion at the Spring Business meeting or a topic for a survey of members. It was approved that Ripon could select Teaching Award winners from among Ripon graduates now teaching mathematics in Wisconsin middle or high schools.

Mark Snavely, Section Governor, presented the Governor's Report. Mark attended his first Board of Governors meeting at MathFest in Portland, OR in August. He said that Francis Su mentioned having visited Wisconsin for the 2014 Section Meeting and had been impressed with our honoring of local mathematics teachers and our Face-Off activity for undergraduates. The MAA is pushing for participation in its centennial activities, especially for attendance at the 2015 MathFest in Washington, DC. The MAA encourages members to forward more nominations for MAA awards. The MAA will publish its new CUPM Guidelines in 2015. The MAA continues to run at a slight deficit each year, but the deficits are declining and are expected to disappear by 2016. The MAA will put more emphasis on publications as a way to bring in more revenue, especially with its increased publication of mathematics textbooks and e-books. The Board of Governors also spent some time discussing the roll of the Board. Tom Drucker, Mark Snavely, and Ben Collins attended the Section Officers Meeting at MathFest.

There was a short discussion of changes that could be made to the administration of the Wisconsin MAA Math Contest now run by Jay Beder from UW-Milwaukee. No changes will be made for the December 2014 contest, but changes could be made for the next year. In particular, moving to an electronic delivery of the contest would lower the expense for producing the contest, and some of that savings could be passed on to participating schools.

Ben Collins requests that reports for the fall newsletter be sent to him by Friday September 26. Ben has several names lined up for the next few *Know Your Wisconsin Mathematician* articles, but he is always interested in receiving more recommendations.

In 2014 there were three nominees for the Distinguished Teaching Award. Since files of nominees stay active for 3 years, there are already two applicants for the next award. Schools should be encouraged to submit additional nominations using the form available on the Section website. The new form gives more guidelines to make it clear what attributes make a good candidate.

McKenzie Lamb is our new Student Activities Coordinator and is planning to continue the programs Ken Price and Steve Szydlik had been running.

Eric Eager in our new Project NExT Wisconsin director. He spoke about the Spring Meeting where the topic was Lesson Study implemented as part of SOTL. The Fall Workshop will be at Baraboo October 4-5 and will include speakers about professional development, mathematical modeling, and flipped classrooms. Some Project NExT Wisconsin members will speak about their work.

Jennifer Kosiak, Wisconsin Mathematics Council (WMC) Representative, spoke about WMC Fall Conference Wausau Oct 11-12 and the May Conference in Green Lake which will feature the topic of STEM initiatives. The WMC is discussing the UW System Common Core Vertical alignment. It points out the problem of the low number of future math teachers graduating in Wisconsin, and that many districts are now using long term subs with no math background to teach mathematics courses. The WMC is taking a look at teacher preparation curricula. New teachers will now take the edTPA developed by Stanford and administered by Pearson and will need to pass this to be certified to teach in Wisconsin in addition to taking and passing the PRAXIS II. Assessment for the Common Core Standards begins this April.

The Section has no plans for any special activities highlighting the MAA Centennial beyond encouraging member to attend the 2015 MathFest. Perhaps the Spring meeting can give some attention to national MAA and Section history.

It was approved that the section will pay \$20 per month for a four-month trial use of the enhanced version of emailmeform, a web form generating service, which would allow us to more easily collect payments from those registering for our spring meeting.

For the record:

Tom Drucker is Chair until April 2015, Kavita Bhatia is Chair Elect until April 2015, Mark Snavely is Governor until July 2017, Ken Jewell is Immediate Past Chair until April 2015, Jonathan Kane is Secretary-Treasurer until April 2015, Laura Schmidt is Math Contest Coordinator until April 2015, McKenzie Lamb is Coordinator of Student Activities until April 2017, Jennifer Kosiak is MAA Representative to WMC until April 2015, Eric Eager is Project NExT-WI Director until April 2017, and Ben Collins is Public Information Officer until April 2016.

The Section will ask departments for volunteers for the next Chair Elect. Jonathan Kane's first threeyear term as Secretary/Treasurer is up in the spring, and Jon is willing to serve another term as long as there is no other member particularly interested in taking over these duties. We will confirm that Laura Schmidt is willing to serve another term as Contest Coordinator. Jennifer Kosiak will be stepping down as WMC Representative and will ask around to see if another MAA/WMC member is interested in serving.

The next Executive Committee meeting will be Friday January 30 from 4 to 6 PM, likely at UW-Baraboo assuming that a room can be reserved for the Committee.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:58.

Respectfully Submitted by Jonathan Kane Secretary/Treasurer