## Executive Committee Meeting Wisconsin Section of the MAA January 31, 2014 UW-Baraboo/Sauk County

Present: James Swenson, Ken Jewell, Tom Drucker, Andy Matchett, Jonathan Kane, Laura Schmidt, Ken Price, Steve Szydlik, Kirthi Premadasa, Ben Collins, Eric Eager, Jennifer Kosiak (via Skype)

Ken Jewell called the meeting to order at 3:55.

The minutes of the October 4 Executive Committee meeting were discussed and approved without change.

Jonathan Kane presented the Treasurer's Report. It was noted that the section balance is high by recommended MAA standards. This was partly due to the section's account acquiring of the Wisconsin Math Contest funds this past fall. It was agreed that the Executive Committee would monitor the funds over the next couple of years before determining a course of action. The report was approved.

It was agreed that the spring 2015 meeting would be held at Ripon College and that the Executive Committee would seek a host for the 2016 meeting.

Chair-Elect, Thomas Drucker, discussed plans for the spring 2014 Section Meeting (April 4-5 at UW-Whitewater). The invited speakers will be Francis Su (MAA President-Elect), Dan Kalman (American University), and Steve Stigler (University of Chicago), but none feel they can commit to speaking Friday afternoon. Dan Kalman has agreed to be the after-banquet speaker. It was decided that having two invited speakers on Saturday was workable, especially if there were some sort of break in the sequence of contributed talks on Friday afternoon.

Traditionally non-MAA speakers are given a \$300 honorarium which is intended to cover all of their expenses, but exceptions have been made for more prominent speakers or speakers with especially large expenses. The reception will have a cash bar which will not cost the section anything unless the total purchases do not reach \$250. It is suggested that we monitor the expenditures. The banquet will be a buffet.

There are four applicants for the section Distinguished Teaching Award. It was decided that the recipient of the award would be determined on the basis of the submitted applications rather on other facts the Executive Committee members might know about the applicants. Kane, Swenson, and Premadasa form the committee that will choose the recipient, make suggestions for improving the application for the award, and order a plaque for the winner.

Andy Matchett delivered the Governor's Report. The MAA worries about declining membership, but it is expected that the new dues structure will make this better. The MAA will abolish offering short courses which have been presented before national meetings. There has been a recommendation that teachers have a masters degree in Statistics before teaching any college statistics course.

Thomas Drucker reported about the Section Officers' Meeting at the Joint Meetings. Most of the discussion centered on plans for the 2015 MAA centennial. Every section needs to design a T-shirt approved by MAA Headquarters. The 2015 MathFest will be in DC, be larger than usual, and include a

parade of section flags with lots of students wearing their section T-shirts. Section histories should be completed by January 2015. The 2015 section meeting should include a celebration with presentation of section history and a section video. The Section Officer's Meeting also discussed establishing a closer interplay between sections and the MAA Special Interest Groups (SIGMAAs) with each SIG having a representative in each section.

Laura Schmidt delivered the Student Contest Report. The 2014 Wisconsin MAA contest ran smoothly under its new director, Jay Beder, from UW-Milwaukee. As with many first contests created by a new team, the contest test was harder than usual. It had a larger number of schools registered.

Ben Collins needs reports for the spring newsletter by end of next week. The call for speakers will have a March 1 deadline. Registration and banquet prices will remain the same as in 2013 (\$20 each). The newsletter will advertise for new Student Activities Coordinators. For now the section web site will not provide an online registration form for the Wisconsin Math Contest.

The next *Know your Wisconsin Mathematician* will feature the outgoing section Governor, Andy Matchett, as is the tradition. We were not successful at contacting Anatole Beck, so there was no *Know Your Wisconsin Mathematician* feature in the fall newsletter. Don Passman is a possibility for next fall.

Ken Price and Steve Szydlik presented the Student Activities Report. At the spring meeting there will be a student retreat room with snacks, student banquet tickets will remain just \$5, and Ken and Steve will run the FaceOff competition. They would like to step down as Student Activities Coordinators after serving three 3-year terms but are interested in continuing their running of the FaceOff competitions.

Kirthi Premadasa presented the Project NExT Wisconsin Report. There was a good fall conference with member sessions where 3 Project NExT faculty gave presentations which are available online. There should be Q&A mentoring sessions at each Project NExT meeting which gives mentoring similar to the way the national Project NExT does with consultants. Kirthi will work with Eric Eager for spring conference and will continue to support the project in the future after Eric takes over the coordinator position. The Executive Committee thanks Kirthi for his contribution to Wisconsin Project NExT and, by the way, for providing snacks for the Executive Committee meeting.

Jennifer Kosiak, attending the meeting via Skype, presented the Wisconsin Mathematics Council (WMC) Reprot. She announced the WMC Teacher Ed Journal, the May 2014 Conference, and discussed obtaining nominations for \$2000 scholarships which will be awarded to two pre-service students. There will be an October 19 conference in Wisconsin Dels to discuss college readiness in light of common core state standards and what should be included in a third high school college prep course for non-STEM field high school students in light of the state now requiring an additional credit of mathematics for high school graduation.

Kavita Bhatia from UW- Marshfield/Wood County has agreed to be the next section Chair-Elect. Mohammad Ahmadi, Clare Hemenway, and Mark Snavely will run for section Governor with the election being run by the MAA by e-mail this spring.

Kirthi and Ben will help Jon write a section spending policy to be reviewed at the fall Executive Committee meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 6 PM.

Respectfully Submitted by Jonathan Kane Secretary/Treasurer