## Minutes Executive Committee Meeting Wisconsin Section of the MAA October 4, 2013 UW-Baraboo/Sauk County

Present: James Swenson, Ken Jewell, Tom Drucker, Andy Matchett, Jonathan Kane, Laura Schmidt, Ken Price, Steve Szydlik, Kirthi Premadasa, Ben Collins

Ken Jewell, Chair, called the meeting to order at 4:00 PM.

The minutes of the January 13, 2013 and April 6, 2013 Executive Committee meetings were edited and approved.

The Executive Committee formally thanked UW-Baraboo for providing cookies and lemonade for the meeting.

Jonathan Kane presented the Treasurer's Report showing a Wisconsin Project NExT balance of \$692.05 and a section general funds balance of \$7,630.78 for a total of \$8,322.83. The board agreed that beginning in 2013 the section would reimburse its representative to the MAA Section Officers Meeting held annually at MathFest up to \$600 for travel and up to two nights lodging.

Tom Drucker reported on the progress in making arrangements for food, rooms, lodging, and speakers for the Spring 2014 Section Meeting scheduled for April 4-5, 2014 at UW-Whitewater. Tom is serving both as program organizer and local arrangements coordinator. He has already arranged that Dan Kalman will be one of the invited speakers, and suggestions were made for other speakers.

Andy Matchett reported about the Board of Governors Meeting held at MathFest in Hartford, CT. The main news from the MAA is that the dues categories have been greatly simplified. This includes a \$100 retired faculty category which applies to 25 year members over the age of 70 years, and a \$35 student category. The MAA is still operating at a \$1 million annual deficit, resulting in a cash reserve of only \$2.6 million. This is partly due to a declining membership, a trend for many professional organizations.

Tom Drucker and Andy Matchett both attended the Section Officers Meeting at MathFest. Discussed were the membership decline and preparations for the 2015 MAA centennial celebration. It was suggested that MAA Sections should not carry large cash reserves, and that cash reserves should not be as much as triple the section's annual expenditures. Jon noted that for the past year, the Wisconsin Section balance was about 1.5 times its annual expenditures.

Laura Schmidt reported that UW-Milwaukee will now host Wisconsin MAA Math Contest, and the transition is going well. Jenn Kosiak made a special trip to Viterbo University to recover the materials from the former host. The Section wishes to thank Jenn for her efforts. Everything seems to have been recovered except for the remaining funds associated with the contest. The Section has decided to have the contest funds integrated into the Section account with the account being handled by the Secretary/Treasurer. Jon will write a letter formally requesting that the funds be sent to Wisconsin MAA. Copies of the letter will be sent to the former contest coordinator, Michael Wodzak, as well as to several administrators at Viterbo University to see if the funds can be recovered. Jay Beder will be the new

contest coordinator at UW-Milwaukee. He will send money collected to the Section Secretary/Treasurer and will request reimbursement for contest expenses.

Ben Collins requests that reports for the newsletter be submitted to him soon. In preparation for the 2015 MAA Centennial, the Section is trying to complete a history of the section. In particular, anyone with documentation of section activities, officers, newsletters, or meeting brochures from 1989 through 2006 should get copies of this information to Ben.

Ben Collins led a discussion about possible candidates for the next Know Your Wisconsin Mathematician interview.

Jonathan Kane will collect applications for the Section Distinguished Teaching Award, but none have yet been submitted. Ben will send out a request for nominations to the liaisons list. Ken will mention the need for nominations in his chair report.

Ken Price and Steve Szydlik discussed student activities including the Pi Mu Epsilon, Banquet, the student retreat room at the Section Meeting, the Wisconsin Math Council annual Green Lake Conference, and the future of Face Off competitions. Ken and Steve would be glad to give up their positions as Student Activities Coordinators when their current term ends in Spring 2014. They emphasize that they would continue to run Face Off competitions at the Section Meetings no matter who holds the Student Activities Coordinator positions.

Kirthi Premadasa spoke about Project NExT Wisconsin. There will be 11 participants in the fall NExT workshop to be held over the coming weekend, October 5-6. The topics include how to use technology to enhance teaching. There will be 3 NExT participants presenting at the workshop. Kirthi would like to step down from his position as Project NExT Coordinator in the Spring 2014.

It was suggested that Kirthi contact Kavita Bhatia to see if she is interested in running for the next chairelect position in Spring 2014.

Jon, Laura, and James will contact Claire Hemenway, Mark Snavely, and Mohammad Ahmadi to see which of them might be interested in running for Section Governor this Spring to replace Andy Matchett at the end of his term. Jon will send out e-mails to each.

The Spring Meeting Ideas Subcommittee consisting of Jon, Tom, Ken, Ken, and Steve charged with coming up with new ideas for the spring meeting never met, but Ken Price promised to try to get the committee moving.

It was felt that the Section should have a policy for making financial expenditure decisions.

The Executive Committee will meet next on Friday January 31, 2014 at UW-Baraboo.

The meeting adjourned at 6:05 PM.

## For the record:

- Laura is in her fifth year as Contest Coordinator (through spring 2015)
- Steve and Ken are in their ninth year as Student Activities Coordinators (through spring 2014)
- Kirthi is in his second year as Wisconsin NExT Coordinator (through spring 2015)

- Ben is in his eighth year as Newsletter Editor/PR Officer (through spring 2016)
- Jon is in his second year as Secretary/Treasurer (through spring 2015)

All offices are on three-year terms, except for Newsletter Editor/PR Officer which is on a five-year term.

Respectfully Submitted by Jonathan Kane Secretary/Treasurer