## MAA Wisconsin Section Annual Business Meeting

Saturday, April 7, 2018 UW-Eau Claire

The meeting was called to order at 8:05 AM by Section Chair, Kirthi Premadasa. The meeting agenda and the minutes of the April 22, 2017 business meeting were both approved.

Secretary/Treasurer, Jonathan Kane, presented the Treasurer's Report. The section made a small profit on the 2017 section meeting. Virtually all meeting registrations are now handled by credit card using PayPal to process the transactions. A motion to move \$1500 from the general funds to the Math Contest was approved.

Nominations were solicited for Chair-Elect. No new nominations were offered, and Kseniya Fuhrman of Milwaukee School of Engineering was the unanimously elected. Kseniya will serve as Chair-Elect for one year followed by one year as Chair and one year as Past-Chair.

Nominations were solicited for Secretary/Treasurer. No new nominations were offered, and Jonathan Kane of the University of Wisconsin - Madison was the unanimously elected for a third three-year term.

The 2019 Wisconsin Section Meeting will be held at Carthage College in Kenosha, Wisconsin on April 12 – 13 which does not conflict with any major hoidays or conferences. UW – Stout will consider hosting in 2020, and UW – Whitewater in 2021. It was suggested that an effort be made to attract more faculty from northern Wisconsin including places like UW – Superior and Northland College. The meeting at UW – Stout may offer such an opportunity.

MAA President and invited speaker, Deanna Haunsperger of Carleton College, spoke about the major changes in the MAA in 2017. In particular, MAA books are now being published by the American Mathematical Society, and MAA journals are being published by Taylor and Francis. Also, the governing structure of the MAA changed with the Board of Governors becoming the Congress with the daily executive decisions of the MAA now being handled by the MAA Executive Council. Wisconsin Section members will receive a 40 percent discount on publications within two weeks of the section meeting. The MAA is trying to increase departmental and corporate memberships and is looking into ways to offer more opportunities to its senior members.

Visiting MAA representative, Jennifer Quinn of the University of Washington Tacoma pointed out that the Committee on Committees and Councils has the job of populating MAA committees and is looking for volunteers. Names of volunteers can be submitted online by logging into your MAA account.

Section Representative, Clare Hemenway, added that the mission statement of the MAA has been updated. She encourages departments to review their departmental memberships to take advantage of its benefits including student memberships. The MAA Career Resource Center has job postings and information about mathematics jobs. Earlybird registration for the 2018 MathFest August 1 – 4 ends April 15. The Instructional Practices Guide is worth looking through. It has short, easy-to-read sections about common teaching problems with suggestions for solutions. There is still indecision about whether member of the MAA Congress should be called representatives or governors.

Mathematics Contest Coordinator, Laura Schmidt, delivered a report about mathematics contests. There were 549 Wisconsin students taking part in the AMC 8 competition compared with 552 last year. There were 1120 students taking the AMC 10/12 with no perfect scores. The Wisconsin average scores were near the national averages. 50 schools participated in the Wisconsin Math Contest which was up. 930 students had scores turned in. The number of students participating was down continuing a many-year trend. 3 students had perfect scores. \$300 awards were made to Julian Camacho (Homestead High School) and Thomas Rose (Harland Arrowhead High School). Thank you to Jay Beder and Gabriella Pinter from UW – Milwaukee who have run the contest for the last five years. Welcome to Kevin Haertzen of UW – Platteville who will run the contest next year. The Wisconsin Math Contest is administrated locally on the first Thursday of December.

The Coordinator of Student Activities, Balamurugan Pandiyan, delivered his report. The Student Activities room at the Section Meeting has snacks, a quiz, and an informational poster.

Section NExT Co-directors, Holly Attenborough and Matthew Corne, told about the Fall 2017 conference in Baraboo where speakers were Megan of Virginia Tech and Susan Crook from Loras College. At the end of the Section Meeting the Section NExT meeting will have 3 panelists.

Thanks to outgoing Past Chair, Jennifer Szydlik, and welcome to new Chair, Irfan Ul-Haq and the new Chair Elect, Kseniya Fuhrman.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:55 AM.

Respectfully Submitted By Jonathan Kane Secretary/Treasurer