Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting of the Wisconsin Section of the MAA

Centennial Hall, Room 3204, UW-La Crosse April 23, 2016

Kavita Bhatia, Chair, brought the meeting to order at 8:02 AM. A quorum was present.

Kavita thanked Jen Szydlik and the people at UW La Crosse for a great meeting.

A motion to approve the agenda was made, seconded, and passed.

The minutes of the Business Meeting on April 25, 2015, were approved unanimously as presented.

Mark Snavely presented the Treasurer's Report for Jonathan Kane.

In the Wisconsin Section elections, Kirthi Premadasa from UW-Baraboo was nominated for the office of Chair-Elect for the 2016-2017 year. A motion was made to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for the candidate. The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

UW-Milwaukee was chosen as the location for the next section meeting which will take place April 21-22, 2017, in celebration of the 50th anniversary of the granting of the first Ph.D. degrees from that institution. UW-Eau Claire expressed an interest in hosting the 2018 meeting, and Carthage College is interested in hosting the meeting in 2019.

The following motion was made: "Members and invited guests of the MAA-Wisconsin Executive Committee will be allowed to request and receive reimbursement from the Section at the state rate for mileage to and from the Executive Committee Meetings." The motion was seconded and passed with 0 no votes and one abstention.

Section Governor Mark Snavely presented a slide show highlighting news from the MAA. The most important item was the change in the governance structure of the MAA. He referred section members to the spring newsletter for details.

Laura Schmidt presented the student contests report. There were 44 schools reporting scores in the Wisconsin MAA contest with scores turned in for 1597 students. Because of a change in the way that the AMC is reporting scores, we may no longer be able to see how many Wisconsin students took the AMC competition exams. Laura asked the members of the meeting for advice on how to determine the sections student award winners if AMC data is no longer available. All agreed that the highest score(s) on the Wisconsin MAA contest should receive the award if AMC data is not available.

McKenzie Lamb gave the Student Activity Report. The new addition this year was a set of 3D puzzles placed in the student activities room.

Eric Eager, the Project NExT-WI coordinator, spoke about the Wisconsin Project NExT Workshop last fall. At the conclusion of this year's Section Meeting, there will be a panel on the scholarship of teaching and learning. There will be another fall workshop in October or November.

Wendy Meyer gave the WMC report. The annual Green Lake Conference is May 4-6. There are more exciting conferences in the fall. Members were encouraged to attend these outstanding meetings.

Ben Collins gave a report as Public Information Officer. He reminded everyone that this spring was the first time that no print newsletter was mailed. He asked everyone to remind colleagues that the newsletter is online. Also, the MAA is phasing out the department liaison program. Ben will maintain a statewide liaison listing, as he has found this very useful.

The section extended thanks Thomas Drucker who is completing his year as Past-Chair. Thank you also to Jen Szydlik and the folks at UW La Crosse for being in charge of the local arrangements for the UW-La Crosse meeting. Welcome to Kirthi Premadasa who is becoming Section Chair.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:45 AM.

Respectfully Submitted by

Mark Snavely filling in for Jonathan Kane

Secretary/Treasurer