## Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting of the Wisconsin Section of the MAA Ripon College April 25, 2015

Thomas Drucker, Chair, brought the meeting to order at 8:01 AM.

The minutes of the Business Meeting on April 5, 2014 were approved.

Jonathan Kane presented the Treasurer's Report. Jim Daniel, visiting the Wisconsin Section from MAA Headquarters offered the suggestion that the section could sponsor a Project NExT fellow every few years as a way of spending some of the section surplus funds.

In the Wisconsin Section elections, Jennifer Szydlik from UW-Oshkosh was elected Chair-Elect for the 2015-2016 year, and Jonathan Kane from UW-Madison was elected Secretary/Treasurer for another three-year term. Both elections were unanimous.

UW-La Crosse was chosen as the location for the next section meeting which will take place April 22-23, 2016. UW-Milwaukee has requested that they host the 2017 meeting in celebration of the 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the granting of the first Ph.D. degrees from that institution.

Section governor, Mark Snavely, presented a slide show highlighting centennial news from the MAA.

- The MAA has a goal of raising \$7 million by the end of 2016 as part of their Second Century Campaign.
- The Committee on Undergraduate Programs in Mathematics (CUPM) is about to release a new set of guidelines updating its previous guidelines released in 2004. The new guidelines will be more specific than the 2004 guidelines, and there will be more follow-up than before.
- The institutional membership category for the MAA has been revamped. The cost of an institutional membership will vary with the size of the institution and whether or not it grants Ph.D. degrees. The membership will allow the department to give out an unlimited number of student memberships, each of which comes with online access to all the MAA journals.
- The MAA encourages all members to log into the MAA membership portal at the MAA website. In particular, members can edit their personal profile and have access to many member benefits.
- Wisconsin Section members can take advantage of a 35% discount on MAA publications for the two weeks surrounding the Wisconsin Section meeting by using the discount code distributed to all members.

Jim Daniel, MAA Treasurer, representing the MAA, encouraged Wisconsin MAA members to attend MathFest in Washington, DC in August when the MAA will celebrate its centennial. The meeting has been extended to four days rather than the usual three,

has many great talks scheduled, and will have fewer committee meetings. He also emphasized the new institutional membership. All MAA members can now pay their dues with monthly installments automatically charged to their credit cards and can sign up for auto renewals. Jim said that unlike most sections, Wisconsin Section membership has been increasing. He stressed the importance of sections because many more MAA members are active at the section level than the national level.

Laura Schmidt presented the student contests report. 44 schools took part in the Wisconsin MAA contest with scores turned in for 1577 students. The number of participants in the AMC 10/12 contest was about the same as last year which was down from previous years. 27 students from Wisconsin qualified for the AIME competition. There was a lively discussion about the future of the Wisconsin MAA contest and whether it should move to an electronic distribution or be discontinued. It was generally felt that he contest should continue at least for the next couple of years while experimenting with electronic distribution.

Eric Eager, the new Project NExT coordinator, spoke about the Wisconsin Project NExT Workshop held in Baraboo last fall. At the conclusion of the Section Meeting, there would be another workshop focusing on forms of student assessment. There will be another fall workshop in Baraboo the first weekend in October.

Gary Britton, who was attending the Section Meeting, received a certificate honoring his 50 years of MAA membership.

The section extended thanks Ken Jewell who is completing his year as Past-Chair. Thank you also to David Scott for being in charge of the local arrangement for the Ripon College meeting. Welcome to Kavita Bhatia who is becoming Section Chair.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:57 AM.

Respectfully Submitted by

Jonathan Kane

Secretary/Treasurer