Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting of the Wisconsin Section of the MAA UW-Whitewater April 5, 2014

Ken Jewell, Chair, brought the meeting to order at 8:06 AM.

The minutes of the Business Meeting on April 6, 2013 were approved.

Jonathan Kane presented the Treasurer's Report. There was a discussion of the section's taking over the administration of the funds of the Wisconsin Math Contest.

Kavita Bhatia (UW-Marshfield/Wood County) had been nominated for Chair-Elect. The floor was opened for other nominations for Chair-Elect, but none were offered. Kavita was then elected the next Chair-Elect of the section.

Ripon College was chosen as the location for the Wisconsin Section Meeting in 2015. The meeting will be held the second or third weekend in April depending on room availability. UW-LaCrosse suggested that they could host the meeting in 2016.

Mark Snavely will succeed Andy Matchett as Section Governor in July 2014 and will serve a three-year term. Andy reported that the committee on curriculum reform headed by Martha Siegal is preparing its final report. It will suggest that instructors teaching an Introduction to Statistics course have a masters degree or better in statistics, and at institutions where this is impractical, some statistics training should be provided for those teachers. Steve Dunbar is retiring as Director of the American Mathematics Competitions, and Ivars Peterson is stepping down as Director of Publications for Journals and Communications. The MAA is seeking replacements for these two.

Francis Su, President-Elect of the MAA visiting from Harvey Mudd College, spoke about national MAA initiatives. He applauded the Wisconsin Section for honoring area high school teachers with its annual teaching awards. He made suggestions about what other sections are doing to attract graduate students to their annual section meetings including encouraging graduate students to speak and holding mock job interview sessions for them. Such programs do a lot to attract new MAA members.

Laura Schmidt presented the student contests report. Wisconsin scores for national contests remain slightly below the national average. The two winners of the Wisconsin Mathematics Contest are Christopher Xu and Brian Luo.

Ken Price and Steve Szydlik delivered the student activities report. At this meeting there were 13 student talks, and there was a student retreat room complete with an elliptical putting green. The Green Lake meeting is scheduled for the end of April. They introduced McKenzie Lamb from Ripon College who will be the next Student Activities Coordinator.

Kirthi Premadasa gave the Wisconsin-Project NExT report. The Fall 2013 meeting was held in Baraboo and considered research based teaching with NExT members making presentations which were then posted on the web. At the conclusion of this Section Meeting, Wisconsin-NExT will hold a meeting featuring a panel about Lesson Study. There will be 20 new faculty in WI-NExT next year. Eric Eager from UW-La Crosse will transition to being our new Project NExT coordinator.

Ben Collins reminded us of the need to complete our section history in preparation for the celebration next year of the 100th anniversary of the MAA. There is a box of section memorabilia which is low on materials from 1980-2000, so anyone with information from that era should contact Ben.

The section extended thank yous to outgoing Governor Andy Matchett, Past Chair James Swenson, Student Activities Coordinators Ken Price and Steve Szydlik, and Project NExT Director Kirthi Premadasa.

Welcomes were extended to new Governor Mark Snavely, Chair Tom Drucker, Chair-Elect Kavita Bhatia, Student Activities Coordinator McKenzie Lamb, and Project NExT Director Eric Eager. Thank yous were extended to Ken Jewell for his job as Section Chair and to UW-Whitewater for hosting the current meeting.

There was a short discussion about which meeting expenses were typically born by the host institution.

Francis Su mentioned the advantage of offering an incentive for institutions within the section that typically do not participate in MAA activities.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:37 AM.

Respectfully Submitted by

Jonathan Kane

Secretary/Treasurer