Teaching and Service Award Nominations

Distinguished Teaching Award

Nominations for the 2018 Southeastern Section Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics are now being accepted. The Southeastern Section selection committee will choose the winner of this award from the pool of nominees in two stages. From the initial applicants, the committee will choose a group of finalists. Nominators of finalists will be contacted for more detailed information about the candidate’s teaching. The winner will be honored at the Spring 2018 meeting of the Section at Clemson University.

Nominations can be submitted online through the form at https://goo.gl/forms/5XNVAJbp0R3yApq23

Distinguished Teaching Award by a Beginning College or University Mathematics Faculty Member

The MAA Southeastern Section (MAASE) established this award to honor beginning college or university faculty whose teaching in the Section has been extraordinarily successful and whose effectiveness in teaching undergraduate mathematics is shown to have influence beyond their own classrooms. An awardee must have taught full time in a mathematical science in the Southeastern Section for at least two years, but not more than a total of seven years in any collegiate institution. Each year at most one college or university teacher is to be honored with this MAASE section award. Nominations for the award may be made by any member of the MAASE section.

 Nominations can be submitted online through the form at https://goo.gl/forms/XW3VxFMrN69aSMkX2

Distinguished Service Award

The Southeastern Section of the MAA is delighted to present a Distinguished Service Award at its annual Spring Meeting each year. Any member of the Section who is an outstanding contributor to our Section is eligible for nomination. The person selected for 2018 will be honored at our Section’s Meeting, to be held March 23-24, 2018, at Clemson University, Clemson, SC. The Section Distinguished Service Award Committee encourages members of the Section to nominate deserving persons for this award. Please send your nomination(s), along with the nominees’ vitae and other supporting materials/letters, all as electronic documents, to Martha Abell, Committee Chair, martha@georgiasouthern.edu. We ask that you make every effort to gather these materials without the nominee’s knowledge, as it is the Section’s tradition to surprise the awardee with the award at the Section meeting. Previous nominations of candidates who were not awardees may be carried forward for consideration for the 2018 award if the nominator so notifies Martha Abell by the submission deadline, January 19, 2018, which has been extended from the date listed in the Spring 2017 newsletter. Contact Martha Abell regarding any questions about the process or nominating materials.