Distinguished Teaching Award

The Board of Governors of the Mathematical Association of America instituted the Award for Distinguished College of University Teaching of Mathematics at its meeting in San Francisco, California, on January 15, 1991. There will be awards at both the Sectional and national level, with recipients of Section Awards being considered for the national awards. Each of the Sections will select a recipient of the Section Award, to be honored by the Section at its annual spring meeting. The awardee will then be the official Section candidate for the national awards.

Year Name School
1992 Anne Hudson Armstrong Atlantic State University
1993 Robert Bryant Duke University
1994 John Neff Georgia Institute of Technology
1995 Sylvia Bozeman Spelman College
1996 Carl Pomerance University of Georgia
1997 Harold Reiter University of North Carolina at Charlotte
1998 Joel Brawley Clemson University
1999 Ben Klein Davidson College
2000 Theodore Shifrin University of Georgia
2001 Johnny Henderson Auburn University
2002 Ronald Harshbarger University of South Carolina at Beaufort
2003 Sue Goodman University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2004 Jeff Knisley East Tennessee State University
2005 David Stone Georgia Southern University
2006 William Mac Priestly University of the South
2007 David Sumner University of South Carolina
2008 Ron Gould Emory University
2009 Hugh Howards Wake Forest University
2010 Martin Jones College of Charleston
2011 Barry Speiler Birmingham-Southern College
2012 Sam Kaplan University of North Carolina Asheville
2013 Ron Taylor Berry College
2015 Maurice Hendon University of Georgia
2016 Stephen Robinson Wake Forest
2017 Valerie Miller Georgia State University

Distinguished Teaching Award: Beginning Faculty

Year Name School
2009 Patrick Bahls UNC Asheville
2010 Jason Parsley Wake Forest University
2011 Tom Hoffman Coastal Carolina University
2012 Hua Wang Georgia Southern University
2013 Yuliya Babenko Kennesaw State University
2014 Joe Rusinko Winthrop University
2015 Kristen Abernathy Winthrop University
2016 Chad Awtrey Elon University
2017 Jeremy Brazas Georgia State University