BURTON W. JONES AWARD FOR DISTINGUISHED COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY TEACHING OF MATHEMATICS

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS



BURTON W. JONES 2013 AWARD

FOR

DISTINGUISHED

COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY

TEACHING OF

MATHEMATICS

PAST ROCKY MOUNTAIN

SECTION RECIPIENTS

1992 Professor John H. "Jack" Hodges University of Colorado at Boulder

1993 Professor Gerald Diaz

United States Air Force Academy

1994 Professor A. Duane Porter University of Wyoming

1995 Professor William D. Emerson Metropolitan State College of Denver

1996 Professor Zenas Hartvigson University of Colorado at Denver

1997 Professor Thomas Kelley Metropolitan State College of Denver

1998 Professor Monte Zerger

Adams State College

Professor Bill Briggs 1999 University of Clorado at Denver

2000 Professor Barbara Bath Colorado School of Mines

2001 Professor Jim Loats

Metropolitan State College of Denver

2002 Professor Gene Abrams

UCCS

2003 Professor Hugh King Colorado School of Mines

2004 Professor Don Teets

SDSMT

2005 Professor Bryan Shader

University of Wyoming

2006 Professor Barb Moskal

Colorado School of Mines

Professor Lynne Ipiña 2007

University of Wyoming

2008 Professor Steven Janke

Colorado College

PAST ROCKY MOUNTAIN

SECTION RECIPIENTS

2009 Professor Richard Grassl University of Northern Colorado

2010 Eric Stade

University of Colorado Boulder

2011 Rich Bogdanovich

Community College of Aurora

2012 Janet Nichols

Colorado State University - Pueblo

What is the Award?

In 1991, the Board of Governors of the Mathematical Association of America established Section Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics to recognize extraordinarily successful teachers of mathematics at the post-secondary level. The Rocky Mountain Section Award is named in honor of Burton W. Jones, a lifelong advocate of excellence in teaching and strong supporter of the MAA.

Each year, a four-member Award Selection Committee chooses an award recipient from nominations made by the section membership. Recipients are outstanding teachers who foster student excitement about mathematics; simply being nominated is an honor. Nominees and their receive complimentary nominators meeting registration at that year's section meeting (including banquet fees for the awardee and awardee's nominator). All nominators also receive a certificate of appreciation in recognition of their efforts to promote excellence in teaching.

The awardee is honored with a certificate and \$271.82 honorarium at that year's Section Meeting, and is invited to deliver the opening lecture at the next year's Section Meeting. This individual also serves a one-year term on the Award Selection Committee and becomes the Section Nominee for the Deborah and Franklin Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. These national awardees (at most three) are honored at the MAA winter meeting with a certificate and \$1000 check.

Who can nominate?

Any member of the Rocky Mountain Section of the MAA may nominate any other member of the Section. Self nomination is not permitted.

Who is eligible for the Award?

The nominee must:

- be a member of the MAA.
- be a college or university teacher assigned at least half time during the academic year the teaching of mathematical science in a public or private college or university (from two-year college teaching through teaching at the Ph.D. level) in the United States or Canada. approved leave Those on (sabbatical or other) during the academic year in which they are nominated qualify if they fulfilled the requirements in the previous year.
- have at least five years teaching experience in a mathematical science.

What are the selection criteria?

The nominee should:

- be widely recognized as extraordinarily successful at the post-secondary level.
- have teaching effectiveness that can be documented.

"Teaching" is to be interpreted in its broadest sense, not necessarily limited to classroom teaching. It may include activities such as preparing students for mathematical competitions at the college level (e.g., Putnam Prize Exam or Mathematical Contest in Modeling), or attracting students to become majors or graduate students in a mathematical science.

 have had influence through their teaching beyond their institution.

"Influence beyond their own institution" can take many forms, including demonstrated lasting impact on alumni, influence on the profession through curricular revisions in college mathematics teaching with impact beyond your institution, and influential innovative books on the teaching of mathematics.

 foster curiosity and generate excitement about mathematics in their students

What is the nomination process?

Nomination forms and complete guidelines are available from:

- The section web page (http://sections.maa.org/rockymt)
- ◆ Department Chairs and MAA Departmental Liaisons
- ♦ The Section Secretary (contact information available at website)

The nomination form should reach the secretary, *Heidi Keck*, hkeck@western.edu or *Hurst Hall, Western State Colorado University*, *Gunnison*, *Colorado 81231* by 1 December 2012; completed dossiers should reach the secretary by 15 January 2013. Electronic submission is encouraged.

In addition to the nomination form, complete materials include:

- narrative description of nominee's credentials, not to exceed five pages;
- no more than three additional pages of evidence to document nominee's extraordinary teaching success;
- as many as five letters of recommendation of no more than one page each, as follows:
 - Two from present or former students.
 - Two from the nominee's colleagues (one could be the department chair).
 - One additional letter from anyone qualified to comment on the nominee's extraordinary teaching success.

The nominator should compile a complete dossier before submitting materials!

Materials should be typewritten and double spaced in 12 point or larger type size. Electronic submission is encouraged.

Please follow the guidelines provided at http://www.maa.org/awards/teachingawards.htm