The 1999 spring MAA Rocky Mountain Section Meeting, May 1, 1998

The meeting was called to order by the Chair, **Shahar Boneh**, at 8am. The minutes of the meeting for the preceding year was approved, as was the financial report. In summary, we had \$6719.54 on April 12, 1998 and \$7796.39 on April 30, 1999 Of this amount, \$2945.61 is encumbered in some form.

Patrick Enright of Arapahoe Community College was elected Vice-Chair. He will serve a two-year term. Janet Barnett of University of Southern Colorado was elected Secretary/Treasurer. This is a three-year term (and she is eligible for re-election!). Our new Section Governor is Bill Emerson, of Metropolitan State College of Denver.

The Section Activities Grants program was discussed. In order to create a process for reviewing grants, it was decided that the Chair of the Section would appoint the review committee. Several questioners from the floor asked if we truly had funds available for such grants? Boneh answered that there was no current fund available, but that there did not have a be a special fund. Al Skillman pointed out the Executive Committee always had veto power and the lack of available funds would be one reason for not approving a grant. Bill Emerson suggested that no grants be provided until we did have designated monies.

The following motion had been circulated to all the members of the Section in the fall of 1998. There was no discussion concerning it and it was approved unanimously:

Motion on Guidelines for Presentations at Rocky Mountain Section Meetings

MAA members will be scheduled if their titles are received by the program deadline. The deadline is established by the host institution, but is usually 4 to 6 weeks prior to the meeting. If a title is received late, MAA members will be accommodated on a space-available basis. Presenters who are not members of the MAA must be sponsored by a member of the MAA. If a meeting is a joint meeting with another organization, such as the CCTM, the above guidelines only apply to sessions identified as being MAA.

Because of a change in our officer structure, the Distinguished Teaching Award Committee will have as a member, either the Past Chair, or the Chair Elect, whichever is currently selected.

The Section moved to thank Adams State College and all of the math/cs faculty and students who had worked to make this such a successful meeting. The meeting ended during a snowstorm, as it had begun.

The Section meeting will be held at Colorado State University in 2000 and at Western State University in 2001

(

Respectively submitted, William C. Ramaley, Secretary Treasurer