Minutes of Executive Council Meeting and the Annual Business Meeting, Rocky Mountain Section of the MAA. April 3, 1993

Gary Grefsrud, section Chairman, convened the meeting of the Executive Council at Table Mountain Inn 7 am. Also present were Laurel Rogers, Bill Ramaley, Corinne Brase, Jack Hodges, Don Teets, Ardel Boes, Willy Hereman, John Kenelly, C. D. Mendez, Bill Emerson and Tom Kelley

Bill Ramaley gave the summary of the treasurer's report, showing the section had approximately \$1109.35 in Checking and \$3,381.46 in savings (including \$1000 as a Short Course reserve fund.) Known outstanding debts were approximately \$550 to Colorado School of Mines in connection with the ongoing meeting.

Four publishers had each paid \$40 for an exhibitor fee and this was to help pay for the wine/cheese reception preceding dinner. There were doughnuts and coffee Friday afternoon and Saturday morning; these to be paid out of meeting income.

Don Teets, of South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, reported SDSMT was still planning to host the 1994 meeting. The dates are April 15-16.

The nominating committe, chaired by Charles Brase, reported their nominees for 1993-94. For Chair-Elect: Janet Barnett, University of Southern Colorado and Edwin Hawkins of Mesa State College; for Vice-Chair: Gladwin Bartel, Otero Community College and Patricia Hauss, Arapahoe Community College; for Secretary-Treasurer, Bill Ramaley, Fort Lewis College.

Jack Hodges announced that on behalf of the section, he has accepted the offer for an Aid to Sections proposal on getting the section involved with curriculum reform. There will be a panel at the 1994 meeting of the section. John Kenelly suggested we have someone experienced in grant writing chair the panel, but the national office will send a good selection of transparencies and other material which can be used.

The question of the effect of "Amendment 2" (which banned the passage of laws in Colorado prohibiting discrimination based on sexual orientation) was discussed and it was decided (section governor) Jack Hodges would report the action of the national MAA in moving the 1995 meeting from Denver.

We discussed how to go about getting wider nominations for the Distinguished Teaching Award. No resolution.

Gary Grefsrud brought up the "MAA Presidental Initiative for "Grassroots" Action." Baffled by just what the national wanted us to do, and impressed with how the invitation for participation ended up with "In his Retiring Presidental Address in Orlando, Donald Kreider reports on the resounding success of this Initiative." Grefsrud intends to write a letter to the national indicating our section would not participate.

The topic of attendance by a section officer at the summer MAA meeting in Vancouver was brought up.

The meeting closed with discussion about how to involve the NCTM or the Two-Year College Association in a joint meeting. No resolution.

The Executive Committee adjourned at 7:55

Respectively submitted,

William C. Ramaley, Secretary/Treasurer, Rocky Mountain Section MAA

Minutes of Annual Business Meeting, Rocky Mountain Section, MAA, April 3, 1993

Gary Grefsrud, Chair of the section, convened the meeting at 8:10 in the Metal Hall of the Green Center at the Colorado School of Mines

The minutes of the 1992 meeting at Colorado College were accepted as circulated.

Treasurer Bill Ramaley presented a summary of the finances of the section. At the time of the meeting, the section had \$3381.46 in savings and \$1109.35 in a checking account with about \$600 in known debts and expenses incurred in connection with the ongoing meeting as yet unquantified.

The 1994 meeting was announced to be held at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology in Rapid City, South Dakota.

The Nominating Committee put forth Janet Barnett, University of Southern Colorado, and Edwin Hawkins, Mesa State College, for the position of Chairperson-Elect. Janet Barnett was elected. The Committee put forth Gladwin Bartel, Otero Community College, and Patricia Hauss, Arapahoe Community College, for the position of Vice-Chair. Patricia Hauss was elected. Finally, the Committee renominated Bill Ramaley to continue as Secretary/Treasurer. He was elected by acclimation.

Governor Hodges congratulated the section on its support for the Greater MAA Building Fund. A plaque honoring Burton W. Jones, University of Colorado (Boulder) will be placed in the lobby of the MAA building in recognition of our section's members contribution of over \$3000.

The Section gave Gerald Diaz, Air Force Academy, our section's award for Distinguished Teacher. His nomination for the national award was forwarded to the national office.

A discussion ensued on the question of the national officers and Board of Governors moving the 1995 meeting out of Denver because of the Colorado voters approving "Amendment 2" which forbade the passage of laws prohibiting discrimination based on sexual orientation. John Kenelly, of the national office, reported that the national officers had sent letters to Denver Mayor Wellington Andrew Webb and Colorado governor Roy Romer saying that if Amendment 2 is repealed the national officers would "accept later" another offer to come to Denver. Considerable outrage, as well as frustration, was expressed, but no resolution was offered for action.

Following a short discussion, registration fees at future section meetings will be \$2 for students and unemployed persons, \$6 if preregistering, and \$10 at the site of the meeting.

Mesa State College, which last hosted the meeting in 1986, offered to host the 1995 meetings. The section officers were instructed to prepare a new "rotation schedule" plan to be offered at the 1994 meeting for discussion.

The section voted to add the 1993 top scorer on the Putnam exam to our list of free MAA student memberships. Bill Bosch, of the University of Northern Colorado, suggested we also recognize the top scorers on the High School tests. This will be done in some manner, as yet to be determined by the Executive Committee.

In closing the meeting, the Section voted to thank the Colorado School of Mines for its kind hospitality. Appreciation was also extended to Ardel Boes and Willy Hereman for their outstanding organization of the meetings.

Officers for 1993-94 are - Past Chair: Gary Grefsrud, Fort Lewis College

Chair: Tom Kelley, Metropolitan State College of Denver

(

Chair Elect: Janet Barnett, University of Southern Colorado

Vice Chair: Patricia Hauss, Arapahoe Community College

Secretary/ Treasurer: Bill Ramaley, Fort Lewis College

Governor of Section: C. G. Mendez Metropolitan State College of Denver

Acting Program Chair: Don Teets, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Respectively submitted, William C. Ramaley, Secretary/Treasurer

Mathematical Association of America, Rocky Mountain Section