Jan 92

ROCKY MOUNTAIN SECTION OF THE MATHEMATICAL ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA

Officers for 1991-1992

Chairperson: Laurel Rogers, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs,

Austin Bluffs Parkway, Colorado Springs, CO 80933-7150 (719) 593-3301

Vice-Chairperson: Corinne Brase, Arapahoe Community College,

5900 S. Sante Fe Dr., Littleton, CO 80221

Chairperson-Elect: Gary Grefsrud, Fort Lewis College

Durango, Colorado, 81301

(303) 247-7336

Secretary/Treasurer: Bill Ramaley, Fort Lewis College

Durango, CO 81301

(303) 247-7268

Governor: John H. Hodges, University of Colorado at Boulder

Campus Box 426, Boulder, CO 80309-0426

(303) 492-7564

Past Chair: Gail Gliner, Metropolitan State College,

1006 11th St., Campus Box 38, Denver CO 80217

SPRING MEETING of ROCKY MOUNTAIN SECTION

The Meeting will be at Colorado College, in Colorado Springs, on April 10 and April 11, 1992.

Program Chair is — John J. Watkins, Math. Dept., Colorado College, 14 East Cache La Poudre, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-3294 Phone (719)-389-6542 [JWatkins%CCNode@Colorado]

Information about this meeting is enclosed.

MAA publications will be on sale at the meetings. Not only do meeting registrants get a 20% discount on the member's price on your purchases at the meeting, but also the Rocky Mountain Section earns 10% of the total sales.

Beside the best-selling Kanigel biography of Ramanujan, The Man Who Knew Infinity, the latest MAA publications including Old and New Unsolved Problems in Plane Geometry and Number Theory, by Stan Wagon and Victor Klee and Polyominoes: Puzzles and Problems in Tiling by George Martin will be available at very attractive prices.

Textbook publishers and other exhibitors have been invited to have displays. This activity is tentatively scheduled for Friday from 1-4:30, although forms for MAA book orders be submitted on Saturday to Bill Ramaley.

Any college or university interested in hosting a meeting of the section is invited to contact any of the section officers listed above.

NEWS FROM DEPARTMENTS

Colorado State University -

Arne Magnus, a long-time and very active supporter of the MAA died in Fort Collins on Oct. 18, 1991. He had been a member of the UC-B faculty and then was a member of the faculty at CSU for a quarter of century. Arne will be missed by his many friends who admired his mathematical work, his gleeful friendliness and his zest for life despite severe personal adversity.

The Mathematics Department has established a lecture fund. If you would like to donate, please make the check out to the CSU Foundation and indicate on your check that it is for the "Magnus Lecture Fund." Send it to: Department of Mathematics, 121 Engineering, Fort Collins, CO 80523, Attn: Kristy Lahnert

Mesa State College -

D'Ann Fuquay joined the department as Professor of Computer Science. James Brock has been promoted to Associate Professor of Engineering Technology and Arun Ektare has been promoted to Professor of Computer Science. Lori Payne is on leave. Two retirees are: James Kramer and Jerry Wethington.

Metropolitan State College of Denver

Lewis Romagnano (Ph. D. in Math Ed from Univ. of Colo-Boulder) has joined the faculty in mathematics education.

Thomas Kelley once again sponsored a team of majors in the national Mathematical Contest in Modeling. The team of Rena Todd, Catherine Baxter, and Kevin Tate was awarded meritorious status They were was among the nation's top 24 teams. Kelley has sponsored teams each of the last 5 years.

Gail Gliner was promoted to full professor and awarded a sabbatical, which she is spending at the U. of California, Berkeley, working with Alan Schoenfeld in mathematics education. William Emerson also was promoted to full professor and awarded a sabbatical, which he is spending at the Colorado School of Mines and the University of Denver, developing a workbook of problems for calculus students using Mathematica.

The Mathematics Club sponsored a two day visit by Robert Devaney, nationally know for his work on Fractals and Chaotic Dynamical Systems.

William Emerson, Jerry Uhl, and Zenas Hartvigson gave presentations at a workshop sponsored by Addison-Wesley on Technology in the Classroom.

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology -

In computer science, Dr. John Weiss, joined the department. The last six years he has taught at Virginia Commonwealth University.

Karen Whitehead was promoted to full professor.

Julie Dahl is on leave, completing a Ph.D. at the U. of Montana. Ron Weger retired.

In October, 1991, Dr. Donald Small conducted a two-day workshop on CAS and Calculus Reform for faculty from SDSMT and Black Hills State University

Trinidad State Junior College -

George E. Leone joined the department, having previously been at Regis and CU-B. Jack Kosovich has retired.

University of Colorado-Boulder

Carla Farsi (Ph.D., U. Maryland) and Guoliang Yu (Ph.D., SUNY-Stonybrook) have joined the faculty. Jeffrey S. Fox and Judith Packer have been promoted to Associate Professor. On leave are W. B. Jones, A. Bressau, R. Roth, R. R. Struik, H. Ellis, J. Fox, J. Malitz, and E. Stale.

The Mathematics Department will move to a new building in the summer of 1992.

University of Colorado-Denver -

Jim Koehler (Ph.D. – Stanford) joined the department in 1990. Those with sabbaticals and/or leaves in 1991-92 are: Tom Manteuffel, Weldon Lodwick, Sylvia Lu, and Roland Sweet. The fortunate ones with leaves and/or sabbaticals in the coming year are: Dave Fisher, Roland Sweet, Jan Mandel, Bill Cherowitzo, and Burt Simon.

Chuck Sherrill retired.

At present, CU-D has over 1.4 million dollars of externally funded research grants

University of Denver-

Mario Lopez (Ph.D., U. of Minnesota); Ramakrishna Thurimella (Ph.D., U. of Texas, Austin); Raj Seshu (U. of Illinois) and Richard Ball (U. of Wisconsin) have joined the department.

Herbert J. Greenberg has retired