1986 SPRING MEETING OF THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN SECTION

The Seventieth Annual Meeting of the Rocky Mountain Section of the Mathematical Association of America was held April 25-26, 1986 on the campus of Mesa College. This was a Joint Meeting with the Intermountain Section - the first since the division of the Section in 1976. Professor Paul Halmos of the University of California-Santa Clara presented the Annual Invited Address, "Problems That I Cannot Solve". David Ballew gave the Annual Banquet Address, "Research and Teaching".

There were two invited addresses:

JAMES CANNON - Brigham Young University "Group Theory in Low Dimensional Topology"

MARTIN WALTER - Colorado University
"A Duality Between Algebra and Geometry"

The following papers were contributed.

*Denotes students

- 1. RICHARD C. WALKER Fort Lewis College "Coordinate Transformations"
- 2. JOEL S. COHEN University of Denver "A Course in Computer Algebra and Symbolic Manipulation"
- 3. *PETER BAILEY G.W.H.S. "PERT"
- 4. ROBBIN GILFORD Colorado University/Denver "Determining Relative Position in 3-D Space"
- 5. DAVID BALLEW SDSM&T "TA's Training Program"
- 6. *SANDRA HENRY Metro "Bessel and His Differential Equation"
- 7. *DEBRA HELLER Metro "Fourier and Applications to Meteorology"
- 8. *DARRYL DREILING Metro
 "The Two-Body Problem A View from the Velocity
 Phase Space"
- 9. JOHN HENSON Mesa College "Pair Factorials"
- 10. EDWARD HALTEMAN Rockwell International "Confidence Regions and Bands"

- 11. *JACK LYNCH Metro
 "The Fourth Dimension Points of View" Movie
 "The Hypercube: Projection and Slicing"
- 12. *GEORGE C. DONOVAN Regis High
 "Fractals"
- 13. THOMAS KELLY Metro Linear Algebra Workshop
- 14. RICHARD TEBBS SUSC
 "How to Enjoy Teaching Trigonometry!"
- 15. *JEFF SALT Weber State
 "Algorithmic Solvability and the Word Problem"
- 16. A. SHIDFAR Colorado State University "Some Series Solution of Harmonic Equations"
- 17. DON ELLIOTT UNC
 "Transport Problem Part I"
- 18. RICHARD GIBBS Fort Lewis "Variety of Uses of Math Induction"
- 19. WILLIAM BOSCH UNC
 "Transport Problem Part II"
- 20. *SHANE HUBKER Colorado College
 "Finite Single Forms for Bernoulli Numbers"
- 21. LEE BADGER Weber State "Lazzarinis Lucky Approximately of π"
- 22. *PAUL GRAHAM Cherry Creek
 "Transfinite and Infinitesimal Mathematics"
- 23. LAWRENCE O. CANNON Utah State University
 "What Binomial Coefficients are Divisible by
 What Primes"
- 24. *DAVID GIFFORD Idaho State "The Relationship Between Rook Polynomial and Matching of Graphs"
- 25. GEORGE GINGERY
 "Sieve of Erathosthenes"
- 26. JAMES LAVITA University of Denver "From Statistics to Sherlock"
- 27. *JANET BRADFORD Idaho State
 "Adjacency Matrices and Graph Homomorphisms"

- 28. GORDON GILBERT Mesa College
 "Differential Forms in LaGrangian Mechanics"
- 29. LLOYD BEST Martin Marietta
 "Increased Accuracy in Nonlinear Programming"
- 30. *CATHY KUNICKI Idaho
 "Balanced Sets Mod N"
- 31. A. SHIDFAR Colorado State University
 "On the Continuity of Non-Differentiable Functions in Holder Sense"
- 32. GAIL GLINER Metro
 "Math Anxiety Study"
- 33. BEN MANUEL Colorado State University "Reconstruction of Sequences"
- 34. HUNG LI University of Southern Colorado "Exact Probability of Obtaining All Real Roots"
- 35. REBEKKA STRUIK Colorado University "A Short Biography of Claribel Kendall"
- 36. RICK GILLMAN "Solutions to a Homomorphism, Equation of Digraphs"
- 37. DONALD R. SNOW Brigham Young University
 "Generating Functions for Some Combinatorial Number
 Sequences"
- 38. ERIC FISHER
 "Recursion and Expanding Cos mθ"

The student paper winners were:

Debra Heller, Metro State Jeff Salt, Weber State Shane Hubker, Colorado College At the Annual Business Meeting, Professor Charles Brase of Arapahoe Community College was elected Chair-elect and Professor Gilbert Orr of the University of Southern Colorado Co-Program Chair for 1987. Bernard Sharp of Otero Junior College was elected Vice-Chair and William Emerson of Metro State was elected to fill the remaining one-year term as Secretary/Treasurer. The Governor's Report was given by Professor Gary Grefsrud and is attached. There was discussion on future meeting sites, Meritorious Service Awards, Section Short Courses, and our appreciation of the host institution. The Section recognized Don Bushnell of Ft. Lewis College on his retirement and David Ballew for his service as Secretary/Treasurer for eleven years.

David Ballew Secretary/Treasurer RMS/MAA