The MATHEMATICAL ASSOCIATION of AMERICA

INCORPORATED-



Kenneth A. Ross, Secretary

Department of Mathematics , University of Oregon Eugene, Oregon 97403-1222 503 686-4721 (office) 503 686-1549 (home)

September 30, 1986

Professor Frieda K. Holley Department of Mathematical Sciences Metropolitan State College 1006 11th Street Denver, CO 80204

Dear Professor Holley:

I enclose copy of a letter listing the current list of national MAA speakers. To this list you can add Herbert S. Wilf, Editor-Elect of the Monthly. Unfortunately, I do not have a list of titles of their possible talks available.

You are perfectly welcome to contact potential speakers on your own. However, we do keep a record of the various speakers' commitments to other sections, so it will probably save you time if you check with me to see who is available among your top choices.

Sincerely yours, Lerneth a. Rass

KAR:wkw

The MATHEMATICAL ASSOCIATION of AMERICA

-INCORPORATED

Kenneth A. Ross, Secretary

Department of Mathematics University of Oregon Eugene, Oregon 97403-1222 503 686-4721 (office) 503 686-1549 (home)

February 12, 1986

ection spooke

TO: MAA Section Secretaries

FROM: Ken Ross, Secretary

As you no doubt know, the national MAA will supply a speaker for one sectional meeting per year, i.e., will pay his or her travel and living expenses. The purpose of these visits is to have these speakers help keep the sections informed about the activities at the national level and also to allow the sections to get input back to our officers and central governing committees.

Requests for such speakers should be addressed to me. We keep a file so that we can quickly determine which speakers are available. Specific requests will be honored whenever possible. The current list of available speakers is:

Lynn A. Steen, President
Leonard Gillman, President-Elect
Ivan Niven, Past President
Henry Alder, Past President
Richard Anderson, Past President
Henry O. Pollak, Past President
Deborah T. Haimo, First Vice-President
Ronald M. Davis, Second Vice-President
Kenneth A. Ross, Secretary
Donald L. Kreider, Treasurer
Lida K. Barrett, Finance Committee Member
Gerald J. Porter, Finance Committee Member
Alfred Willcox, Executive Director

Paul Halmos, Monthly Editor
Gerald L. Alexanderson, Mathematics Magazine Editor
Warren Page, College Mathematics Journal Editor
Stephen B. Maurer, chair of the Committee of the American
Mathematics Competitions
Alan Tucker, chair of Publications Committee
Alan Schoenfeld, chair of CTUM = Committee on the Teaching of
Undergraduate Mathematics
Jerome Goldstein, chair of CUPM = Committee on the Undergraduate
Program in Mathematics