1985 SPRING MEETING OF THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN SECTION

The Sixty-Eighth Annual Meeting of the Rocky Mountain Section of the Mathematical Association of America was held March 15-16, 1985 on the campus of Casper College. Professor Lida Barrett of the University of Northern Illinois and the MAA Finance Committee presented the annual banquet address, "Women Mathematicians: Grace Chisolm Young and Emmy Noether."

There were two invited addresses:

- Kenneth Gross University of Wyoming, "Bierberbach, Riemann, and the Class of 1990"
- Lida Barrett Northern Illinois University, "Topology and Material Science"

The following papers were contributed.

*Denotes students

- 1. BEN ROTH University of Wyoming "A New 'Problem Solving' Course"
- HUNG C. LI University of Southern Colorado "The Probability of Obtaining All Roots of a Polynomial Equation to be Real" (Part 1)
- 3. JOAN HUNDHAUSEN Colorado School of Mines "Getting Beyong the Formulas--Generating Graphical Representations of Fourier Series Solutions for the Heat Equation"
- 4. MARTIN HAMILTON Montana State University "The Bootstrap with Some Applications"
- RICHARD LUND Montana State University "Calculation of Critical Values for the Studentized Range"
- LEON BORGMAN University of Wyoming "Probabilistic Design in Engineering"
- 7. WILLIAM GUENTHER University of Wyoming "Two-Sided Distribution-Free Tolerance Intervals and Accompanying Sample Size Problems"
- *SHANE HUBLER Colorado College "Revised Fast Fourier Transforms"
- 9. *DONNA JOHNSON SDSM&T
 "An Application for Multiple Regression"
- 10. *LLOYD BEST Colorado School of Mines "Probabilistic Rocket-Engine Propellant Sizing"
- 11. *KIM GEHRING SDSM&T
 "What Happens to Students Who Start Out With Remedial Math?"

(

(

í. Í

- 12. *STEVE KELLY George Washington H.S.-Denver "The Random Walk Program"
- 13. *PAUL ANDERSON Colorado School of Mines "A New Technique for Identifying Trasnfer Function-Noise Models"
- 14. KEN TIAHRT Montana State University "Planning, Implementing and Obtaining Results for a Statewide Mathematics Assessment Test in Montana"
- 15. KAREN WHITEHEAD SDSM&T "Results on the Structure of the Polynomial Ring k[x]"
- 16. MICHAEL LORD Colorado School of Mines "The Technique of Nonlinear Variation of Constants--Conceptual and Quantitative Results"
- 17. JOHN HODGES University of Colorado-Boulder "Comments on Two Mathematical Experiences for Non-Mathematically Oriented Students"
- 18. STEPHEN BRONN University of Southern Colorado "Isomorphisms Can be Non-Trivial"
- JOHN COWLES University of Wyoming Discussion of University's new course numbering system and other articulation items affecting Wyoming Computer Science majors.
- 20. *SHANE HUBLER Colorado College "Patterns in Bernoulli Numbers"
- 21. *LOUIS KOVARI Colorado School of Mines
 "Mathematics in Hungary"
- 22. THOMAS KELLY Colorado School of Mines "Quarternion Propagation Anomaly"

The student paper winners were:

Shane Hubler, Colorado College Kim Gehring, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology Thomas Kelly, Colorado School of Mines

At the Annual Business Meeting, Professor Freida Holley of Metropolitan State was elected Chair-elect and Professors Ed Hawkins and Carl Kerns of Mesa College were elected Co-Program Chairs for 1986. The Governor's Report was given by Professor Gary Grefsrud and is attached. There was discussion on future meeting sites, Section short courses, and our appreciation of the host institution. Professor Lida Barrett discussed MAA activities at the National Level.

> David Ballew Secretary/Treasurer RMS/MAA

1. Mexitorious Service award coll for nominations goes out in September L'Conference cell in November 3. Proper of notes & minutes pre 48 not much there copies of finance etc. 4. National MAA has taxfree number report income to MAA. Job descriptions for nominating committee flowchart for month by nearth happing. by lan by laws. Conference call in November (menton if dictance short) Gut speaker for next meeting. if problem contact Dr. Wilcox - Exec. Director. Neit. Org. page for Halmon but not local expenses Wine ? Chine contemp of President.