The MATHEMATICAL ASSOCIATION of AMERICA



Kenneth A. Ross, Secretary

Department of Mathematics

INCORPORATED

Eugene, Oregon 97403-1222 503 686-4721 (office) 503 686-1549 (home)

February 11, 1985

MEMORANDUM

TO: - MAA Section Secretaries

FROM: Ken Ross, Secretary

As you no doubt know, the national MAA will supply a speaker for one sectional meeting per year, i.e., will pay his or her travel and living expenses. The idea is that these speakers can help keep the section informed about the activities at the national level and allow the sections to get input back to our officers and central governing committees.

Requests for such speakers should be addressed to me. Specific requests will be honored when possible. The current list of available speakers is:

Ivan Niven, Past-President Lynn Steen, President Henry Alder, Past President Richard Anderson, Past President Henry O. Pollak, Past President Gerald Alexanderson, First Vice-President Ronald M. Davis, Second Vice-President Kenneth Ross, Secretary Leonard Gillman, Treasurer Donald Kreider, Finance Committee Member Lida K. Barrett, Finance Committee Member Alfred Willcox, Executive Director Marcia Sward, Associate Director Paul Halmos, Monthly Editor Doris Schattschneider, Math Magazine Editor Warren Page, College Mathematics Journal Editor Stephen Maurer, High School Contests Committee Alan Tucker, Publications Committee Alan Schoenfeld, CTUM = Committee on the Teaching of Undergraduate Mathematics Jerome Goldstein, CUPM = Committee on the Undergraduate Program in Mathematics

Last years Speaker list.