1983 SPRING MEETING OF THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN SECTION

The sixty-sixth Annual Meeting of the Rocky Mountain Section of the Mathematical Association of America was held on April 29 and 30, 1983, on the campus of Colorado State University in Ft. Collins, Colorado. Prof. Gail

Young of the University of Wyoming presented the Annual Banquet Address, "Mathematics in 1983: Our Problems, Our Prospects, and Our Constituency."

The section heard a panel discussion on "Implications of MuMath on the Mathematics Curriculum" given by panelists A.R. Brown, Colorado School of Mines; William Dorn, University of Denver; Darel Hardy, Colorado State University; and Gail Young, University of Wyoming.

The following twenty-five contributed papers were heard by 125 MAA members:

1. "Legal Protection of Computer Software: A Glitch in the System." by Antonette Logar, National College.

"A two-year Curriculum Integrating Discrete and Continuous Mathematics," by Ronald E. Prather, University of Denver.
 "Edge-labelled Trees," by Julie Yancey, Fort Lewis College.
 "Splittings of a Definite Integral," by Hung Li, University of Southern

- Colorado.
- 5. "A Senior Design Course in Computer Science from the Students' Point of View," by Colleen Borstad, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology.

 6. "Finite Math for the Freshman Computer Science Student," by Karen Whitehead, South Dakota School of Mines.

 7. "Observable Differences between Male and Female Computer Science Students," by Large Sender and Shori Virley South Dakota School of Mines & Technology.

by James Sandau and Sheri Kirley, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology. 8. "Demonstration of MuMath," by Aaron Meyerowitz, Colorado State University. 9. "Seven Notable Women Mathematicians," by Julia Ann Walker, Boulder,

Colorado.

10. "The Jordan Curve Theorem," by David Lear, University of Colorado.
11. "A Mathematical Model Predicting Ultimate Crude Oil Production for the United States," by William Manzer, Western Wyoming College.
12. "What are the Effects (if any) of a Mathematics Placement Exam?" by

- Duane Porter, University of Myoming.

 13. "A Moment on Moments," by Aubrey Owen, Community College of Denver.

 14. "A Technique for Directly Evaluating the Mean Time to First Failure for Nonreparable Electronic Systems with Active Redundency," by John Garstka, Air Force Academy.

- 15. "Mathematical Learning Theory," by Edward De Francia, Fort Lewis College. 16. "Money-Math," by Ben Manvel, Colorado State University. 17. "Extrema in Polar Coordinates," by Aubrey Owen, Community College of
- 18. "Tackling a Ticklish Type of Tic-Tac-Toe (Or the Case of the [Almost] Total Tactics)," by Ira Rosenholtz, University of Wyoming.

 19. "Computer-Generated Insights into Number Theory Results," by Robert

Fisk, Colorado School of Mines.

20. "Integration: Why You Can and Why You Can't," by Rick Miranda, Colorado

State University.

21. "Factoring Messy Trinomials," by Carl Kerns, Mesa College.

22. "New-Wave Cryptography," by Richard Games, Colorado State University.

23. "Service Courses: How the Engineers View What Mathematics Departments
Provide," by David Ballew, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. 24. "Zeros and Factors of Polynomials with Positive Coefficients," by

William Briggs, University of Colorado. 25. "The Van Meegeren Art Forgeries," by James Coler, University of Colorado.

George Donovan of Metropolitan State, Denver, presided with thirty eight members present. The Minutes and Treasurer's Report were approved. presided with thirty-The new officers elected for 1983-84 are as follows:

Chairperson-elect, Ruth Rebekka Struik, University of Colorado, Boulder Program Chair, Major George Hughes, Air Force Academy

Continuing Officers for 1983-84 are as follows:

Chair - Carl Kerns, Mesa College Governor - Jack Hodges, University of Colorado, Boulder, Chair for two-year colleges - Marie Ritten, National College Secretary/treasurer - David Ballew, SD School of Mines 1983 Proceedings - Page 2

Governor's Report - Jack Hodges

There has been a discussion of eliminating every other summer meeting and have meetings in just the odd numbered years. In years E 2 (mod 4), the International Conference of Mathematicians has a summer meeting and in years $\equiv 0 \pmod{4}$ the International Conference of Mathematics Educators meets.

The MAA is starting a series of awards to be given by the sections to members for outstanding achievement. Six awards will be given per year, so we will give one every five years. It is not clear when our turn will come.

The MAA will continue to have contributed papers at Summer and Winter National Meetings. They are not completely open for contributions; the Program Chairman nominates someone who organizes the session.

Meeting Times

The Section voted to have the Annual Meeting start at 12:00 noon on Friday. The ending time on Saturday must remain with the Program Chair, as it is dependent on the number of papers. Consensus was to have no more than two papers in parallel.

There was concern about early notification of the program. Next year copies of the preliminary program will be sent to each institution with the request to pass them around.

Student Paper Competition

The Section will continue to have the student papers judged in a very low key manner. The winners of the student membership awards this year were:

> Julie Yancey, "Edge-labelled Trees," Ft. Lewis College Colleen Borstad, "A Senior Design Course in Computer Science from the Students' Point of View," SD School of Mines and Technology rid Lear, "The Jordan Curve Theorem," University of Colorado,

> David Lear, Boulder

Date of Meeting

The next Annual Meeting will be at the Air Force Academy, April 27-28, The next few meetings are: 1984.

> 1984 - Air Force Academy 1985 - Casper College 1986 - Mesa College

Lectureship Program - Rebekka Struik

There has been a renewal of interest! Rebekka has given presentations at CCTM and has had information distributed there. She has had four invitations this year compared to zero or one in past years. Others report similar activity.

South Dakota has its own "Visiting Scientist" program with approximately ten to twelve mathematics invitations per year. Wyoming's activity was not reported.

Appreciation

The Section expressed its appreciation to Dr. Frank DeMeyer for his outstanding effort as Program Chair for 1982-83 and to Colorado State University for the use of its facilities.

Respectfully submitted,

David Ballew, Sec/treas Rocky Mountain Section MAA