

November 18, 1983

FROM: Dr. Carl Kerns

Tentative Agenda for December 2, 4:00 p.m., SUBJECT: Conference Call

inst minister

Spring Program I.

- Call for papers 1.
- Deadline for submission April 1
- MAA speaker Lynn Steen
- 4. Banquet
- Registration pre-registration \$5,005.
- 6. Expenses
- 7. Student papers
- 8. Tour of the Academy
- 9. Workshops? (Pascal, etc.)
- Newsletter II.
- Elections III.
- IV. Future Meetings
- Other Business v.

Plus anything you want!

Curriculum at Zycon Colleges. Y fieders into Agean

- Panel on Discrete Parel Mathematica Placement exams

Inv. ted Speaker Drum this me

SCHOOL OF NATURAL SCIENCES AND MATHEMATICS (303) 248-1354

I year program integrating Dis. 4 cont. mathematic

Minutes - Business Meeting Rocky Mountain Section of Mathemátical Association of America April 30, 1983

1. George Donovan Presiding; thirty-eight members present

- 2. Approval of Minutes and Treasurer's Report
- Election of New Officers Ruth Rebekka Struik - Chairperson-elect, University of Colorado, Boulder Major George Hughes - Program Chair, Air Force Academy
- 4. Continuing Officers for 1983-84 Carl Kerns - Chair, Mesa College Jack Hodges - Governor, University of Colorado, Boulder Marie Ritten - Chair for two-year colleges, National College David Ballew - Secretary/treasurer, SD School of Mines
- 5. Governors Report Jack Hodges

There has been a discussion of eliminating every other summer meeting and have meetings in just the odd numbered years. In years $\equiv 2 \pmod{4}$, the International Conference of Mathematicians has a summer meeting and in years $\equiv 0 \pmod{4}$ the International Conference of Mathematics Educators meets.

The MAA is starting a series of awards to be given by the sections to members for outstanding achievement. Six awards will be given per year, so we will give one every five years. It is not clear when our turn will come.

The MAA will continue to have contributed papers at Summer and Winter National Meetings. They are not completely open for contributions; the Program Chairman nominates someone who organizes the session.

6. Meeting Times

Ĺ

The Section voted to have the Annual Meeting start at 12:00 noon on Friday. The ending time on Saturday must remain with the Program Chair, as it is dependent on the number of papers. Consensus was to have no more than two papers in parallel.

There was concern about early notification of the program. Next year copies of the preliminary program will be sent to each institution with the request to pass them around.

7. Student Paper Competition

The Section will continue to have the student papers judged in a very low key manner. The winners of the student membership awards this year were:

Julie Yancey, "Edge-labelled Trees," Ft. Lewis College Colleen Borstad, "A Senior Design Course in Computer Science from the Students' Point of View" SD School of Mines and Technology David Lear, "The Jordan Curve Theorem," University of Colorado, Boulder 8. Date of Meeting

.

ć

ĺ.

The next Annual Meeting will be at the Air Force Academy, April 27-28, 1984. The next few meetings are:

1984 - Air Force Academy 1985 - Casper College 1986 - Mesa College 1984 - ?? Suggestions?

9. Lectureship Program - Rebekka Struik

There has been a renewal of interest! Rebekka has given presentations at CCTM and has had information distributed there. She has had four invitations this year compared to zero or one in past years. Others report similar activity.

South Dakota has its own "Visiting Scientist" program with approximately ten to twelve mathematics invitations per year. Wyoming's activity was not reported.

10. Appreciation

The Section expressed its appreciation to Dr. Frank DeMeyer for his outstanding effort as Program Chair for 1982-83 and to Colorado State University for the use of its facilities.

Respectfully submitted,

David Ballew, Sec/treas Rocky Mountain Section MAA