# Executive Committee Meeting Minutes (Virtual) Hosted by Myron Rigsby, Secretary 3:00 pm April 8, 2021

# Presiding: John Diamantopoulos, 2019-2021 Chair

#### 1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 pm by Chair Diamantopoulos.

### 2. Attendance

Chair John Diamantopoulos, Past-Chair Jeanine Myers, First Vice Chair Narayan Thapa. Second Vice Chair Carolyn Eoff, Treasurer Kristi Karber, Communications Director Michael Lloyd, Section Representative Britney Hopkins, Section Visitor Michael Dorff, Editor Lecturer Dominic Klyve, Secretary Myron Rigsby.

#### 3. Ballot for Elections

Section Representative and nominating committee member Hopkins and Secretary Rigsby communicated the following nominations from the nominating committee for open positions to be elected at the Section General Business Meeting.

- a. Secretary, 2021-2023: Sarah Marsh, Oklahoma Baptist University.
- b. Communications Director, 2021-2024: Chris Sauer, Cameron University.
- c. 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair, 2021-2022: Nicholas Jacob, East Central University
- d. NA Court Lecture Committee Member, 2021-2024: Erin Williams, University of Central Oklahoma

# e. Method of election

Secretary Rigsby reviewed various options for managing officer elections and voting on resolutions in a virtual format, including i) use of polling in Zoom, ii) send a ballot to the membership after the meeting using a survey instrument, or iii) request MAA to administer the election. After discussion, there was a consensus to use Zoom polling to conduct elections within the general meeting. Secretary Rigsby would work with Chris Sauer of Cameron and Nominating Committee Chair Ron Smith to finalize preparing for the elections.

# 4. Future Meeting Sites:

The Executive Committee reviewed the future schedule of meeting sites. Dates were announced for the 2022 meeting.

- a. 2022 Henderson State University, Arkadelphia, AR, April 7-9
- b. 2023 East Central University, Ada, Oklahoma
- c. 2024 University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR

## 5. Review of Lectures to be invited in 2022.

The Executive Committee reviewed the new schedule of lectureships to be provided to Sections by MAA. With these additional lecture programs, each Section will be eligible for two lectures each year. For 2022, in addition to a section visitor, the Oklahoma-Arkansas Section is eligible for a lecturer from the Association of Women in Mathematics.

First Vice Chair and incoming Chair Thapa has begin inquires and will be making invitations as

soon as possible. Details are still being finalized for the AWM and the other new lecture programs.

- 6. Bylaws Changes for consideration
  - Secretary Rigsby provided a list
    - a. Clarify role of EC in case of another "disaster", selecting officers, conducting business, selection of next meeting site, etc.
    - b. By-law revision process.

## Timeline:

- i. Between this meeting and 2022: Decide whether to proceed on major revisions, submit for consideration at 2022 meeting.
  - 1. Future of named lectures.
  - 2. Change in Chair position, and corresponding changes in other officers.
- ii. April to November 2022: Draft new by-laws. Due to Committee on Sections for review December 1, 2022.
- iii. March/April 2023: Finalize draft, submit to membership for approval at 2023 business meeting. Submit final approved draft to Chair of Committee on Sections.
- iv. Summer 2023: Final review and approval [hopefully] by Board of Directors.
- c. See also items 9, 10.
- 7. Online Registration How did it work out? Moving forward.
- 8. New Web Page format. Will include access to registration system used for MathFest.
- 9. Last year, we approved higher fees to assist host institution. Do we need to draft some rules/limits?
- 10. Possible items for discussion at Business Meeting:
  - a. Future of named lecture series.
  - b. Term and method of selection for Section Chair.
- 11. New Business
- 12. Adjournment