Executive Committee Meeting Minutes Northeastern State University March 29, 2019 Presiding: Jeanine Myers, 2018/19 Section Chair

1. Call to Order

The meeting was call to order by Chairman Myers at 5:00 pm.

2. Attendance

All members of the executive committee were present: Past Chair Amy Schachle, Chairperson Jeanine Myers, First Vice Chair John Diamantopoulos, Second Vice Chair Mark Johnson, Treasurer Kristin Karber, Secretary Myron Rigsby, Communication Director Michael Lloyd, Section Representative Ron Smith.

3. Listserv

Occasional issues have arisen using the email listserv for intra-committee communication. The committee will continue to use the listserv and individual distribution lists, while the communication director continues to research other options.

4. Ballot

The committee previewed the nominations from the nominating committee for open section offices to be elected during the Section Business Meeting the following day.

5. Bids for Hosting Future Section Meetings

A bid to host the 2022 Meeting has been submitted by Henderson State University in Arkadelphia, AR. After reviewing recent and possible future sites for the meeting, a suggestion was made that the Site Selection Committee consider distance and accessibility in soliciting bids for future meetings.

6. Review of Lectures to be Invited in 2020.

There was general consensus that the reduction from three to two invited lectures for this meeting, with both lectures scheduled for Friday, was a positive change. For 2020, the Section is eligible for an Editor Lecture in addition to a Section Visitor Lecture. Thus, these will be the two lectures for the 2020 meeting. The next Court Lecture will be delivered in the 2021 Section Meeting, with the speaker to be selected by a merged Court/Deal Lecture Committee.

- 7. Combined Reimbursement amount of \$500 for the Section Representative to attend MAA MathFest. As part of the reduced involvement of MAA in the annual Joint Mathematics Meeting, the MAA Congress will no longer hold a required meeting at JMM. The primary meeting of the Congress will now be held at MAA MathFest. Previously, the section representative was reimbursed up to \$250 by the Section to attend each of JMM and MathFest. This amount covers only a fraction of the travel cost to each meeting. Amy Schachle moved that the Section Representative be reimbursed by the section up to \$500 for costs to attend MathFest, with no reimbursement for attendance at JMM. The motion was seconded by Kristin Karber, and passed unanimously.
- 8. Local Registration Fee Increase and Other Cost-covering Measures for Host Institutions. This topic was discussed at the 2018 Executive Committee Meeting, with no conclusion reached due to time constraints. The issue was placed before the general section membership for discussion at the 2018 General Business Meeting.

Current registration fees are \$20 for Faculty and \$10 for students, with a \$5 late fee. After discussion of expenses incurred by host institutions that are not currently covered by registration fees, and discussion whether a distinction should be made in the fees for member and non-member registration, the executive committee decided to propose the following fee structure to the Section:

<u>Class</u>	Normal Registration fee	Late fee
Faculty, MAA member	\$30	\$10
Faculty, not member	\$50	\$10
Students	\$10	\$5

The host institution would be able to request reimbursement for certain meeting-related expenses from these additional funds.

9. By-laws Changes for Consideration

The Section By-laws will be due for review by the national organization in 2022-2023. The following items were identified as issues to address when the by-laws are modified in the future: Named lectures (scheduling, committee structure) Liaisons Committee (program discontinued) Resolution Committee (now handled by Section Secretary) Clarify the role of the Section Representative on the Executive Committee (member? ex

officio?) Procedure for the Executive Committee to replace a Section Representative mid-term

10. Support a national NExT fellow with a donation from our section.

The national NExT program sent a request for sections to consider making donations to assist Fellows from institutions with limited travel funds. No motion was made.

11. Online Registration

Small and medium host institutions have experienced difficulty creating an on-line registration system specific to the needs of the Section that interfaces well with the institutions' on-line payment collection system. The Executive Committee will explore possible options for developing a registration system hosted by the Section.

12. New Business

A. Awards for Student Presentations

Currently, recipients for First, Second, and Third places awards are selected with prizes of \$100, \$75, and \$50. The judges for the student presentations requested greater flexibility each year in how these awards are ranked, such as allowing equal awards in different areas. A motion was made by Myron Rigsby to allow the judges to apportion the same total of \$225 for among three awards each year, based on the type and quality of the presentations. The motion was seconded by Kristi Karber and passed unanimously.

B. Team Jeopardy Competition

The previous night's competition ended with a "tie" between two teams. This created an issue of presenting monetary prizes to the students within the allotted budget. A compromise prize amount was allotted to the co-winners. This situation should be avoided in the future.

13. Adjournment

A motion to adjourn was made by Amy Schachle, seconded by Ron Smith, and passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 5:52 pm.