### EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES University of Central Arkansas 1 April 2016

# 1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 14:40 by Chair Amy Schachle.

# 2. Attendance

In attendance were Executive Committee members Chair Amy Schachle, Secretary Anita Walker, Treasurer Kristi Karber, 1st Vice-Chair Ramesh Garimella, 2nd Vice-Chair Andy Miller, Communications Director Michael Lloyd, Past Chair Ron Smith, and OK-AR Section Governor Lisa Mantini. Also attending was MAA Section Visitor Jim Daniel.

### 3. Listserv

The continuation of the officer listserv was approved for another year. Officers were reminded that emailing to the listserv address allows all members of the Executive Committee to read the message. Emails to one or more specific members of the Executive Committee should be sent using the email addresses of those individuals. Michael Lloyd will explore options for a new listserv or other electronic discussion media to begin in 2017 when a new secretary is elected.

# 4. Ballot for elections

The ballot for the Section elections was reviewed and approved.

# 5. Bids for 2019

The bid from Northeastern State University (Tahlequah OK) was reviewed.

- 6. **Proposed Section Bylaws amendments** The list of proposed Section Bylaws amendments was reviewed and will be presented without change to the Section at its Business Meeting. Ideas for future amendments (in particular concerning the Section committees) were discussed and will be revisited in preparation for the next Section meeting.
- 7. Annual Teacher Awards based on Section meeting site location During the 2014–2015 Section year, the Executive Committee received an informal request to consider the following suggestions:
  - (a) Honor up to three Oklahoma teachers when the Section Meeting is in Oklahoma (odd years)
  - (b) Honor up to three Arkansas teachers when the Section Meeting is in Arkansas (even year)

The Executive Committee asked both Teacher Award Committees for a formal proposal, but none was received and the issue was tabled. In the absence of a formal proposal in the current 2015–2016 Section year, it was moved and seconded to approve the above suggestions. The suggestions were defeated. Thus both Teacher Award Committees will be active each year, regardless of the Section Meeting location.

#### 8. R.B. Deal Fund Cash Flow

Donations to the R.B. Deal Fund have not arrived as hoped. The Executive Committee will explore new options for making Section members aware of the fund as well as for soliciting donations to the fund.

### 9. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 15:59.

Anita M. Walker OK-AR Secretary Approved by the Executive Committee Posted online 7 April 2016