EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

University of Tulsa 10 April 2015

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 14:30 by Chair Ron Smith.

2. Attendance

In attendance were Executive Committee members Chair Ron Smith, Secretary Anita Walker, Treasurer Kristi Karber, 1st Vice-Chair Amy Schachle, 2nd Vice-Chair Ramesh Garimella (appointed), Communications Director Michael Lloyd, Past Chair Dale Alspach, and OK-AR Section Governor Lisa Mantini. Also attending were MAA Section Visitor Frank Farris and MAA Deputy Executive Director Linda Braddy.

3. Listserv

The continuation of the officer listserv was approved. Officers were reminded that emailing to the listserv address allows all members of the Executive Committee to read the message. Emails to one or more specific members of the Executive Committee should be sent using the email addresses of those individuals.

4. Presentation time slots for 2016

The '15+5' minute oral presentation time slots currently in use for 2015 will again be used in 2016.

5. Section Meeting registration fees

The following proposal was approved and will be presented at the Section Business Meeting on Saturday, 11 April 2015. If approved, then it will be implemented for the 2016 Section Meeting.

- An early regular registration fee of \$20 will be in effect up to the deadline set by the host institution.
- The regular registration fee will be \$25 after the stated deadline.
- An early student registration fee of \$5 will be in effect up to the deadline set by the host institution.
- The student registration fee will be \$10 after the stated deadline.

6. Ballot for elections

The ballot for the elections to be held Saturday was reviewed and approved.

7. Bids for 2018

The bids from Arkansas Tech University and University of Arkansas were reviewed.

8. Meeting registration

Efforts will be made in each future year to ensure that all Meeting attendees are properly registered for the Meeting. The name tag will be the official 'badge of entry' for the professional talks, the student talks, the special Lectures, and the Section business meeting. In addition, all students participating in the student talks, the Team Jeopardy, and the Integration Bee will display the same 'badge of entry' in order to participate.

9. Reimbursement for required national events

Beginning with the 2015 MathFest, the following reimbursements will be made each year for the Section officer attending a required national MAA event.

- The Governor will receive \$250 from Section funds for the annual Joint Math Meeting.
- The Governor will receive \$250 from Section funds for the annual MathFest.
- One Executive Committee member will receive \$750 from Section funds for the annual MathFest. Note that since the \$750 includes \$250 from MAA via the subvention payment, it is possible that the total will drop to \$500 if no previous subvention fee is available.

Requests for additional amounts will require the approval of the Executive Committee.

10. Banquet policy for teacher award recipients

The following meal policy was adopted for implementation beginning in 2016.

- Each Teacher Award recipient will receive one free banquet meal.
- One guest of each Teacher Award recipient will receive one free banquet meal.
- All other guests of each Teacher Award recipient will pay the full banquet ticket price.

11. Annual teacher awards

A proposal from the two Teacher Award Committees was discussed. The suggestion was 1) to only honor up to three Oklahoma teachers (elementary school, middle school, and high school) in years when the annual Section Meeting is held in Oklahoma, and 2) to only honor up to three Arkansas teachers (elementary school, middle school, and high school) in years when the annual Section Meeting is held in Arkansas. The proposal will be revisited after further input is received from the chairs of the two committees.

12. R.B. Deal Fund

Once the contributions for the newly established R.B. Deal Fund are totaled, the Executive Committee will discuss a reimbursement policy for the speaker selected by the R.B. Deal Committee.

13. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 15:52.

Anita M. Walker OK-AR Secretary Approved by the Executive Committee Posted online 18 April 2015