Summary of Proposed Bylaws Changes Spring 2022 (Ad Hoc Committee: Britney Hopkins, Kristi Karber, Sarah Marsh, Ron Smith)

<u>1. Section Officer Structure</u>

a. <u>Section Chair</u>: This role still appoints committees, arranges invited speakers, and presides at meetings. This would now essentially be a 4-year commitment on the Executive Committee – 1 year as Chair-Elect, 2 years as Chair, and 1 year as Past-Chair. None of these roles would be responsible for hosting the conference. We would elect a Chair-Elect in alternating years. Only one of Chair-Elect or Past-Chair is in service on the Executive Committee in any given year. The current Chair cannot run for Chair-Elect (to avoid concurrent roles on the Executive Committee), but the Past-Chair may do so.

<u>Rationale</u>: We proposed separation of the Section Chair responsibilities from the meeting host responsibilities at the 2021 Business Meeting. This would allow schools to host the meeting without the obligation of finding someone from their campus to run Section business. It would also allow more members to potentially serve as Chair whose campuses are not able to host the meeting. Membership would have a greater say in who is Chair because it would not be determined by hosting responsibilities. By having the Chair serve longer, we get more experience in that position and provide greater continuity to Section business, as we do with the Secretary, Treasurer, and Communications Director positions.

b. Local Program Chair: The logistics of running the local meeting would fall to this position, which is linked to the host campus. (This essentially replaces the 1st Vice Chair position in the current structure.) We would elect a Local Program Chair-Elect each year. Both the Local Program Chair-Elect and the Local Program Chair would serve on the Executive Committee, but the Local Program Chair-Elect would be a non-voting member. The Local Program Chair and Local Program Chair-Elect cannot serve concurrently in other roles on the Executive Committee.

<u>Rationale</u>: We want the host campus to have a vote on the Executive Committee, and we want the following year's host institution to have insight into the decisions and processes of the Executive Committee in the year prior to hosting. However, we don't want to over-burden host institutions by requiring them to be part of Section business for multiple years. It's currently a 4-year commitment to host (2nd Vice Chair, 1st Vice Chair, Chair, Past-Chair).

c. <u>Executive Committee Structure</u>: The Executive Committee would now consist of the Chair, Past-Chair / Chair-Elect (alternating years), Local Program Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, Communications Director, Section Representative to the MAA Congress, and Local Program Chair-Elect (non-voting) = 8 members (7 voting members).

2. Committees

- a. <u>Distinguished Teacher of the Year Award Committee</u>: We propose to formally merge the Distinguished Teacher of the Year Nominating Committee with the Distinguished Teacher of the Year Selection Committee, as has been done in practice for some time.
- b. <u>K-12 Teacher Award Committee</u>: We propose to merge the Arkansas and Oklahoma Teacher Award Committees into one K-12 Teacher Award Committee with at least one representative from each state.

<u>Rationale</u>: For some time, these committees have alternated awarding Arkansas and Oklahoma teachers based on the host institution's state. Now, we would staff only one committee which would be consistently active.

c. <u>Court-Deal Lecture Committee</u>: We propose to merge the N. A. Court Lecture Committee with the R. B. Deal Lecture Committee. This committee would be appointed by the chair in years where either an R.B. Deal Lecture or an N.A. Court Lecture is to occur.

<u>Rationale</u>: With the increase in the number of invited visitors whose expenses are covered by the national office, the frequency of these local, named lectures has slowed. One committee can handle the timing / speaker selection for both series.

d. <u>Resolutions Committee, Liaison Coordinators</u>: Both of these committees were removed from the bylaws, in keeping with current practice.

3. Minor Changes

- a. Clarified that those voting in Section elections and/or on Section business must be current members with the national office.
- b. Lowered the quorum for a business meeting to 15 (down from 20). (This number was suggested by the national office.)
- c. Set the quorum for Executive Committee action to 5 members. (There was no previous quorum requirement.)
- d. Clarified that elections can be conducted virtually / outside of a called business meeting, if necessary. (The national office has done this for years, and the turmoil of the last few years prompted us to include this option for our Section, as well.)
- e. Clarified that our MAA Section Representative is a voting member of the Executive Committee, provided that he/she was elected by our Section (and was not a replacement appointed by the national office in the event of a vacancy).
- f. Allowed the Executive Committee to set registration fees. (This change, suggested by the national template, will allow us to respond more swiftly to abrupt pricing changes or other issues for each year's meeting.)
- g. Included various wording changes suggested or required by the national bylaws template.